Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2019, 02:42 PM   #1
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Moving Text boxes on a report

At the moment I am using a left, center and right alignment on the text boxes above the Purchase Order caption please view the Attached image.


I need to be able to move the Company and other details above the Purchase Order but I will need to move the text boxes thereby retaining the format as in image, Left, Centre and right does anybody know of any examples for doing this with reports or any other information related.


Thanks Mick


Attached Images
File Type: png 2019-07-19.png (39.4 KB, 103 views)

__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:31 PM   #2
dynamictiger
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 261
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dynamictiger
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

If I am understanding what you are asking one approach maybe to create a set of text boxes in the various positions desired.

Then populate all of them as the report is formatted and only make visible the desired text boxes.

Hope that makes sense.
__________________
Perth, the most isolated capital in the world
dynamictiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:34 PM   #3
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 3,631
Thanks: 38
Thanked 885 Times in 868 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

It could just be me but I don't think I completely understand the request. What is the problem with moving the textboxes? Are you loosing the set justification?

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 01:32 AM   #4
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
It could just be me but I don't think I completely understand the request. What is the problem with moving the textboxes? Are you loosing the set justification?

I have an option in the preferencs to align the header but want to try and avoid the below images












It may be I don't like the result so may have to give the user the option but I don't really like the above I would rather the header look like the centre aligned image.





Think I have worked out a simple way of doing it now involving 3 hidden textboxes.
Attached Images
File Type: png 2019-07-20.png (5.1 KB, 82 views)
File Type: png 2019-07-20 (1).png (9.5 KB, 82 views)
File Type: png 2019-07-20 (S).png (67.9 KB, 80 views)
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by MickJav; 07-20-2019 at 01:40 AM.
MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 01:44 AM   #5
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by dynamictiger View Post
If I am understanding what you are asking one approach maybe to create a set of text boxes in the various positions desired.

Then populate all of them as the report is formatted and only make visible the desired text boxes.

Hope that makes sense.

thanks dynamictiger But it would be to complex I think I have a work arround thanks
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 02:21 AM   #6
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Got The Alignment sorted as per image below going to play with the text box widths and have a default in preferences just incase they need more width for the company name or address lines Etc


Attached Images
File Type: png 2019-07-20 (3).png (35.6 KB, 71 views)
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 02:57 AM   #7
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 9,825
Thanks: 107
Thanked 2,660 Times in 2,434 Posts
isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

You could save your details as an image and embed that on the report.
Alternatively, why not use a subreport for that information?

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 03:05 AM   #8
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by isladogs View Post
You could save your details as an image and embed that on the report.
Alternatively, why not use a subreport for that information?

The Image wouldn't work with what I'm doing as the user needs to add there company info into preferences, was thinking of using a subreport for this as the header is a template for all compny and client reports I'm close now as have it moving where I want I just need a bit of fine adustments when left or right alligned.


thanks
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 03:15 AM   #9
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,027
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,578 Times in 3,456 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

why not make the width of each of the company detail controls the width of the report - then set the alignment to left, centre right as required
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 03:55 AM   #10
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ_London View Post
why not make the width of each of the company detail controls the width of the report - then set the alignment to left, centre right as required

I would end up with the alignment in post 4 which I'm trying to avoid
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 04:43 AM   #11
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Now the problem I'm having is when I use a subreport for the header if I reduce the text sizes in preferences the below happens even with can grow and can shrink set to true on both the main report and sub report the blue shows the space the second image shows a normal report without the sub report







Without Sub report



I'm going to take away some of the sizing as I no longer feel it's all needed
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2019-07-20 (5)_LI.jpg (7.3 KB, 50 views)
File Type: png 2019-07-20 (4).png (10.4 KB, 48 views)
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by MickJav; 07-20-2019 at 04:59 AM.
MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 04:58 AM   #12
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,027
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,578 Times in 3,456 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

perhaps I should have said text alignment. With it set to centre, you would end up with per your post 1
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 05:07 AM   #13
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ_London View Post
perhaps I should have said text alignment. With it set to centre, you would end up with per your post 1

Lol I think I've got it sorted now have to live with a small gap at the bottom as I intend using the subreport as it'll save a lot of time and code.


thanks all for you help


mick
__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 05:15 AM   #14
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 9,825
Thanks: 107
Thanked 2,660 Times in 2,434 Posts
isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

Whilst I'm sure the subreport issue can be fixed and that CJL's solution would also work well, you could still use an image for this as yet another alternative.

In my schools databases, various stock images are used as 'templates' in reports e.g. School logos, mission statements etc. Each client school replaces the supplied image with the equivalent for their school and saves it with the same name and location. This results in 'personalized images' for each school.
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to isladogs For This Useful Post:
MickJav (07-20-2019)
Old 07-20-2019, 05:19 AM   #15
MickJav
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Margate
Posts: 850
Thanks: 54
Thanked 40 Times in 34 Posts
MickJav will become famous soon enough
Re: Moving Text boxes on a report

For those who may wish to know how I finally got it works




The 2 red text boxes are used to align the company name Etc


Then I just used this code


Code:
Select Case Me![HeaderAlign]
    Case 1
    Me![txtCompany].Left = Me![HeaderAlign].Left
    Me![txtAddress].Left = Me![HeaderAlign].Left
    Me![txtContact].Left = Me![HeaderAlign].Left
    Case 3
    Me![txtCompany].Left = Me![ContactsFont].Left
    Me![txtAddress].Left = Me![ContactsFont].Left
    Me![txtContact].Left = Me![ContactsFont].Left
End Select
All the data comes from my preferences table


Hope it helps


mick
Attached Images
File Type: png 2019-07-20 (7).png (17.7 KB, 29 views)

__________________
All open code examples and free projects are only available from:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MickJav is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving text boxes Gouda42 Reports 9 02-01-2019 01:18 PM
fInd and replace text across many text boxes in report design RW_ECC Reports 2 01-30-2015 08:11 AM
Problems with calculated text boxes after moving adp from 2003 to 2007 Larry Peebles Reports 1 07-06-2010 05:34 PM
Help with text boxes on a report. odin1701 Reports 7 02-05-2008 11:13 AM
text boxes on a report GaryW Reports 1 11-10-2002 12:14 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World