Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2000, 05:44 AM   #1
tracey75
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ware, Ma. USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tracey75
date range fields leave blank for all

I have been racking my brain on this for a while. I have two fields for a date range when i put a date "from" and "to" i get my report no problem but the thing is i want to be able not to put in a date range at all and the report will come up with all date. I can't get it to work. I tried the Null stuff and still having problems.

Please Help

tracey75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2000, 07:42 AM   #2
Robert Saye
Senior Member
 
Robert Saye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Westford, MA., USA
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Robert Saye
I believe in the KISS method of database design, if you want the report to default to all try this. Set your text field beginning date to something like 1/1/1935, and your ending date to 1/1/2029. Then the user won't have to enter anything to get all the data; but if they want to specify dates they still can.

HTH
Robert Saye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2000, 06:37 AM   #3
tracey75
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ware, Ma. USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tracey75
Can you tell me where i should be putting that? Is it in the Default value property box? Or, should i putting it somewhere else?

tracey75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2000, 08:32 AM   #4
Robert Saye
Senior Member
 
Robert Saye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Westford, MA., USA
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Robert Saye
Yep, under properties on your form, you can put it in the default value space. Or you can do it in the table under design view.

HTH
Robert
Robert Saye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2000, 06:34 AM   #5
tracey75
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ware, Ma. USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tracey75
I put 01/01/1935 in the start date in Default Value and 01/01/2029 in the End date and this does not work. I get no records when i do that. Any other suggestions?


[This message has been edited by tracey75 (edited 07-07-2000).]
tracey75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2000, 06:53 AM   #6
DML
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, LA USA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DML
I am assuming that you are using these dates in a query or SQL statement. Could you post that statement, please?
DML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2000, 07:02 AM   #7
tracey75
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ware, Ma. USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tracey75
Actually, this is what i have:
I have to unbound text boxes on a form one that is name txtFrom and another txtTo. When i click on it to preview this information comes from the query which says "Between [Forms]![frmDateRange]![txtFrom] And [Forms]![frmDateRange]![txtTo]"

Is there something i'm doing wrong?

tracey75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2000, 10:08 AM   #8
DML
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Baton Rouge, LA USA
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DML
I sent you an e-mail with an attached database with a sample of how to do it.

Is this the same problem as the one you have posted under queries?

[This message has been edited by DML (edited 07-07-2000).]
DML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2000, 11:12 AM   #9
tracey75
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ware, Ma. USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tracey75
yes it is
tracey75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2001, 06:25 PM   #10
geno
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Edmonton Alberta, Canada
Posts: 243
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
geno
I am having sort of the same problem with one of my forms. The difference being that I get no data returned. I have it set up so if there are no records a message box comes up letting the user know. I run this with dates that I know are in the table and I still get the message no records found. Could I get your email on how to set this up properly?
Thanks

geno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World