Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Queries

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2019, 03:00 PM   #1
SW_Engr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SW_Engr is on a distinguished road
Operation must use an updatable query

My Access 2016 database works fine on my computer but on others it gets the error message "Operation must use an updatable query". The other computers are using the full version of Access 2016 or Access Runtime 2016.

SW_Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 03:25 PM   #2
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 20
Thanked 373 Times in 363 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Hi. Can you specify the point where the error is happening?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 04:00 PM   #3
SW_Engr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SW_Engr is on a distinguished road
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Unfortunately it happens randomly. It may appear early during a SQL INSERT INTO statement. Other times it gets way beyond this point and happens on a much later Similar statement. And yet again it may appear even later.

SW_Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 04:42 PM   #4
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 20
Thanked 373 Times in 363 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Hi. Are you saying the same SQL statement would sometimes work but sometimes not?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 09:25 PM   #5
SW_Engr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SW_Engr is on a distinguished road
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

That is correct. One time it will work but the next it might not. I do not get these errors on my computer but it happens on other computers.
SW_Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 07:51 AM   #6
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 20
Thanked 373 Times in 363 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Quote:
Originally Posted by SW_Engr View Post
That is correct. One time it will work but the next it might not. I do not get these errors on my computer but it happens on other computers.
Sounds like maybe there's a timing or write conflict issue. Is this for a multi-user application? Is the copy on your machine also part of the multi-user database?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:14 AM   #7
SW_Engr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SW_Engr is on a distinguished road
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

It is for multi-user, but at this time it is only being used by single users as I am testing an upgrade version.

SW_Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:32 AM   #8
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 20
Thanked 373 Times in 363 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Quote:
Originally Posted by SW_Engr View Post
It is for multi-user, but at this time it is only being used by single users as I am testing an upgrade version.
Hi. What I am trying to understand is if you and the other user are linked to the same backend file at the same time. Are you?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:33 AM   #9
SW_Engr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SW_Engr is on a distinguished road
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

We are not linked to the same back end at the same time.
SW_Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:40 AM   #10
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 20
Thanked 373 Times in 363 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Quote:
Originally Posted by SW_Engr View Post
We are not linked to the same back end at the same time.
Well, that could be the problem. You say the problem does not happen with your machine, but you're not using the same backend as the other user having the problem. Try linking the frontend on your machine to the same backend as the other user and see if your copy still works as before.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:42 AM   #11
SW_Engr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
SW_Engr is on a distinguished road
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

We are using the identical backend for testing.
SW_Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 09:47 AM   #12
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 1,490
Thanks: 20
Thanked 373 Times in 363 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Operation must use an updatable query

Quote:
Originally Posted by SW_Engr View Post
We are using the identical backend for testing.
That may be true, but I can't say if they're exactly the same or something is different. Not sure if you can tell either until you actually test it. If you don't want to test it by connecting to the live BE, maybe you could download a copy of the live BE and connect to it instead. Still, it won't provide the test environment of having multiple users hitting the same BE, where write conflicts could be happening.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Operation must be an updatable query exceii Queries 10 10-17-2011 04:35 PM
operation must use an updatable query gutmj Queries 5 07-14-2011 02:40 AM
Operation must use an updatable query Gkirkup Queries 8 10-27-2010 01:14 AM
Operation must use an updatable query mchow Queries 4 08-29-2003 02:20 AM
Operation must use an updatable query CCIDBMNG Queries 4 02-26-2003 12:07 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World