Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2019, 02:47 PM   #1
Moore71
DEVELOPER
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Moore71 is on a distinguished road
Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Hi,
I just want to find out if it is possible to have items (any product) display within a form in a grid-like boxes as in 4 or more in a row and 10 or more columns?
I will greatly appreciate if anyone can find a way out for me in this regard.


Thanks,
John Moore

Moore71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 02:54 PM   #2
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 13,833
Thanks: 78
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,428 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Fairly easy, but we need more info. We need to know some specifics.

There is ALWAYS the brute-force method of defining forty text boxes in a grid and then manually loading the form in the Form_Current event. But when you said "Display" did you mean by naming your items/products or were you talking pictures/images?

A picture is worth a thousand words. Can you manually build an example of what you seek and tell us something about your data table structure? You can build the image and attach the file. You have enough posts that you should be able to attach images.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 05:09 PM   #3
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 2,732
Thanks: 33
Thanked 652 Times in 635 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Hi John. I agree. Almost anything is possible. But just because it is, doesn't mean it should be done. We'll need to have a little bit more context to be able to say whether what you're thinking of doing is worth it or not.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Tera (05-22-2019)
Old 05-21-2019, 10:24 PM   #4
Moore71
DEVELOPER
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Moore71 is on a distinguished road
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Thank you for quick response to my puzzle.
I think the context I am looking at is app that works on touch-smart PC and Laptops.
I mean a situation where you open the app and you are greeted with most of the Items you have in the DB pop-up in a grid-like boxes and all you need do order any of them is to touch your screen for the Items you desire like in supermarkets.


Is this explanation satisfactory enough?
Moore71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2019, 11:10 PM   #5
Moore71
DEVELOPER
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Moore71 is on a distinguished road
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Access Grid-View.docx


here is my attachment for your view and possible assistance
Moore71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 12:03 AM   #6
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 9,293
Thanks: 105
Thanked 2,492 Times in 2,288 Posts
isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all isladogs is a name known to all
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Have look at my Patient Login example app which is a kiosk style app designed for touch screen so all user interaction is done using buttons. See http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/p...ode/4594457111
There are a series of screenshots to give you an idea before downloading.

In your case you would need to use image controls as buttons or the caption labels as buttons … but the idea is similar.

You could use layout guides to get the grid lines
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 02:56 AM   #7
MajP
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA baby
Posts: 1,567
Thanks: 25
Thanked 471 Times in 447 Posts
MajP will become famous soon enough MajP will become famous soon enough
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Access does not work well with creating controls dynamically, but works well showing, resizing, hiding and moving at runtime. So if it is unknown how many items to display you can create more than you need and then hide the controls. So you can make the 4 by 10 grid of controls and when loading hide the unused. You will likely use a recordset and loop the items and images to load your controls. If the amount of items is more than your grid of controls then you will need to write code to fake moving to the next items by reloading the current controls with the next 40 items.
This is doable, but will require some level of coding. Unfortunately there use to be an activeX listview control in the MSCOMCTL. You could basically do this with a listview. No longer supported

MajP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 03:45 AM   #8
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,007
Thanks: 461
Thanked 889 Times in 844 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

I was typing a response on my phone earlier, which didn't save for some reason! Probably user error! I was going to mention that Colin (isladogs) has done work on touch screen interfaces, I note he has already responded.

With regard to your particular case, the normal operation of a till system is that you would have a buttons to display different products/food groups. Let's say you had a general button for "Bread" with pictures of different breads. You would press on this button and the screen icons would change to different types of bread. If you had a button on the main screen for vegetables it might show a selection of vegetables. You would press on this button and the screen icons would change to show the individual vegetables carrots, swede, cabbage...

I mention this because I have created a much improved version of the MS Access Switchboard. You can see it in operation here:- Nifty Switchboard Builder

At the moment the "Nifty Access Switchboard" just uses text entries to identify the buttons, however the next stage is to convert it so that it handles images. I can't say when this will be done, it's a matter of fitting it in.

I mention this switchboard builder because it allows you to create the individual Switchboard pages quickly and easily. Upgrading it to images, would give you the same functionality but with images on the buttons. If you needed to lets say, add a new loaf of bread to the bread menu, or remove a particular vegetable from the vegetable menu, it would be easy to do using the menu system. But like I said, it's not geared up for images at the moment.
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~‘^‘~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 03:49 AM   #9
Gasman
Enthusiastic Amateur
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 3,605
Thanks: 388
Thanked 622 Times in 603 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Tony,
That links to selfy is not working again?
__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 04:58 AM   #10
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,007
Thanks: 461
Thanked 889 Times in 844 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasman View Post
Tony,
That links to selfy is not working again?
Hi Gasman,
No, I haven't uploaded the Nifty Switchboard yet, since doing those videos I've added a button to delete a page, and I updated the detection of the Orphaned records because it wasn't always working properly.

It's finished now, well as far as I can tell! I'd be happy to send you a copy of it for evaluation if you want to have a look at it, and see if you can find any bugs!
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~‘^‘~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 05:00 AM   #11
Gasman
Enthusiastic Amateur
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 3,605
Thanks: 388
Thanked 622 Times in 603 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: Is this Obtainable in MS Access?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Gizmo View Post
Hi Gasman,
No, I haven't uploaded the Nifty Switchboard yet, since doing those videos I've added a button to delete a page, and I updated the detection of the Orphaned records because it wasn't always working properly.

It's finished now, well as far as I can tell! I'd be happy to send you a copy of it for evaluation if you want to have a look at it, and see if you can find any bugs!
Please do. I'll PM you my email address for a link.

__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access gridview , product view

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Learner: How to create a multiuser form in MS Access For 'MS Access DB' Danyal Forms 1 12-04-2013 03:13 AM
Upgrading Access Database from Access 2003 to Access 2010 ladyfrankie General 1 03-31-2013 01:19 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World