Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Queries

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2019, 09:11 AM   #16
mike60smart
Newly Registered User
 
mike60smart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Dunbar, Scotland
Posts: 396
Thanks: 21
Thanked 87 Times in 86 Posts
mike60smart will become famous soon enough
Re: data entry through the form

Hi

We would have to see your actual Relationship Diagram for your Students database in order to make any suggestions.

mike60smart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:33 AM   #17
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 13,943
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,566 Times in 1,454 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: data entry through the form

What mike60smart was trying to tell you is this: Once you have data stored in a table, you do not need it in another table. You can use a query that would manipulate and filter and reformat and compute as needed. Storing the same data in two tables is not only wasteful of space but runs a SERIOUS risk of data between the two tables getting out of alignment or desynchronized.

You want this in another table for reports - but Access reports work PERFECTLY well using queries as their basis.

What you SEEM to be asking is that you want to use Access like a spreadsheet. Which it is not. Copying from table a to table b and using letters as field names makes me believe you are trying to adapt a spreadsheet that has become too difficult to manage. But there is more to Access conversions than just moving data to another table. This might not be the answer you wanted to hear but it IS the truth.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:26 AM   #18
AccessLastHope
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AccessLastHope is on a distinguished road
Re: data entry through the form

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Doc_Man View Post
What mike60smart was trying to tell you is this: Once you have data stored in a table, you do not need it in another table. You can use a query that would manipulate and filter and reformat and compute as needed. Storing the same data in two tables is not only wasteful of space but runs a SERIOUS risk of data between the two tables getting out of alignment or desynchronized.

You want this in another table for reports - but Access reports work PERFECTLY well using queries as their basis.

What you SEEM to be asking is that you want to use Access like a spreadsheet. Which it is not. Copying from table a to table b and using letters as field names makes me believe you are trying to adapt a spreadsheet that has become too difficult to manage. But there is more to Access conversions than just moving data to another table. This might not be the answer you wanted to hear but it IS the truth.
thanks for the explanation

AccessLastHope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:31 AM   #19
AccessLastHope
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AccessLastHope is on a distinguished road
Re: data entry through the form

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Doc_Man View Post
What mike60smart was trying to tell you is this: Once you have data stored in a table, you do not need it in another table. You can use a query that would manipulate and filter and reformat and compute as needed. Storing the same data in two tables is not only wasteful of space but runs a SERIOUS risk of data between the two tables getting out of alignment or desynchronized.

You want this in another table for reports - but Access reports work PERFECTLY well using queries as their basis.

What you SEEM to be asking is that you want to use Access like a spreadsheet. Which it is not. Copying from table a to table b and using letters as field names makes me believe you are trying to adapt a spreadsheet that has become too difficult to manage. But there is more to Access conversions than just moving data to another table. This might not be the answer you wanted to hear but it IS the truth.
The purpose of this accumulation is to create a reference book, and everyday / weekly / monthly informing students / teachers about their progress, etc., Iím just not worried about the full functionality of the reports, could you share some useful articles about them?but I need pre-configured real-time requests

Last edited by AccessLastHope; 06-12-2019 at 10:47 AM.
AccessLastHope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:12 PM   #20
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 13,943
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,566 Times in 1,454 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: data entry through the form

I don't understand the question: "I need pre-configured real-time requests"

As to articles, you can Google-search (or pick your other favorite web crawler) for:

Database Normalization
ACCESS Action Queries (more specifically, INSERT INTO)

Mike's reluctance to answer - and mine - is that without some better knowledge of your data layout we are likely to give you very bad advice. I am not clear on that layout and from his answers, I would say Mike is confused, too.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 04:51 PM   #21
MajP
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA baby
Posts: 1,599
Thanks: 26
Thanked 486 Times in 462 Posts
MajP will become famous soon enough MajP will become famous soon enough
Re: data entry through the form

Code:
SELECT 
 tblA.D, 
 Sum(tblA.S) AS SumOfS
FROM 
 tblA
GROUP BY 
 tblA.D;
Yields
Code:
D	SumOfS
1	14
2	12
3	781
4	150
5	30
MajP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:31 PM   #22
AccessLastHope
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AccessLastHope is on a distinguished road
Re: data entry through the form

Quote:
Originally Posted by MajP View Post
Code:
SELECT 
 tblA.D, 
 Sum(tblA.S) AS SumOfS
FROM 
 tblA
GROUP BY 
 tblA.D;
Yields
Code:
D	SumOfS
1	14
2	12
3	781
4	150
5	30
Thanks, but I had the same request. I meant how to get data from it and put data from it with each new record in another table. it is necessary so that, for example, when we issue a train ticket, we could not issue the same ticket again

AccessLastHope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:33 PM   #23
AccessLastHope
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AccessLastHope is on a distinguished road
Re: data entry through the form

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Doc_Man View Post
I don't understand the question: "I need pre-configured real-time requests"

As to articles, you can Google-search (or pick your other favorite web crawler) for:

Database Normalization
ACCESS Action Queries (more specifically, INSERT INTO)

Mike's reluctance to answer - and mine - is that without some better knowledge of your data layout we are likely to give you very bad advice. I am not clear on that layout and from his answers, I would say Mike is confused, too.
You see, it is better to give something bad but working, than a beautiful but don`t working

Last edited by AccessLastHope; 06-24-2019 at 07:31 PM.
AccessLastHope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 07:08 AM   #24
AccessLastHope
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AccessLastHope is on a distinguished road
Re: data entry through the form

Quote:
Originally Posted by MajP View Post
Code:
SELECT 
 tblA.D, 
 Sum(tblA.S) AS SumOfS
FROM 
 tblA
GROUP BY 
 tblA.D;
Yields
Code:
D	SumOfS
1	14
2	12
3	781
4	150
5	30
can you tell how to display the value of the field D of table A by pressing Enter?


Last edited by AccessLastHope; 06-23-2019 at 10:20 PM.
AccessLastHope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
form , queries

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Data entry - adding two new entry rows to a table via a form? peskywinnets General 1 01-16-2017 06:38 AM
Setting a limitation of record entry from a form (data entry) sashi126 Forms 30 10-22-2015 05:20 AM
[SOLVED] Data Entry and Non-Data Entry Form nemPyong Forms 4 08-16-2013 08:51 AM
Auto Populate Specific Data on a Blank Data Entry Form samjh Forms 1 01-27-2013 08:17 AM
Data Entry Form: Can I use search criteria to lookup a record and complete the entry? albritm1 Forms 0 01-18-2006 08:23 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World