Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2018, 02:53 AM   #1
SjCc
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SjCc is on a distinguished road
Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

i have shared a DB in 2010 through LAN but still at the second pc where it is working as shared opening slow and working slow... rest it is working fine at main pc where it is present.

Both PC having Win 7 64 Bit with Office 2010 Suit 32 bit

SjCc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 03:10 AM   #2
arnelgp
Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 6,847
Thanks: 55
Thanked 2,183 Times in 2,094 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

this may somewhat make it faster.
always maintain an open Linked table when you start the db.
this can be done by creating a dummy bound hidden form that can be open through autoexec macro. the rowsource of the hidden form is a Linked table (either a dummy one too).

also check the lan cables and config.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to arnelgp For This Useful Post:
SjCc (10-16-2018)
Old 10-16-2018, 03:17 AM   #3
Gasman
Access newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 2,567
Thanks: 307
Thanked 401 Times in 386 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Is the DB split?, from what you are saying it does not sound like it is.?

__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasman For This Useful Post:
SjCc (10-16-2018)
Old 10-16-2018, 03:26 AM   #4
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10,433
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,367 Times in 3,262 Posts
CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

take a look at this link about addressing performance issues

https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...d.php?t=291269
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 04:06 AM   #5
SjCc
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SjCc is on a distinguished road
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
this may somewhat make it faster.
always maintain an open Linked table when you start the db.
this can be done by creating a dummy bound hidden form that can be open through autoexec macro. the rowsource of the hidden form is a Linked table (either a dummy one too).

also check the lan cables and config.
Its being difficuilt for me to understand as ver new to access if it is possible could you post any example how to do this
SjCc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 04:09 AM   #6
SjCc
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SjCc is on a distinguished road
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasman View Post
Is the DB split?, from what you are saying it does not sound like it is.?
no the DB is not splitted i am trying to split it and it was splited at time but after few entries or in idle mode it stop working and showing error like ... reference not....... i think is LAN issue ? because if we work continously on shared db then it works fine but when we stops or idle.. it for 10 to 15 minutes then it takes time to open forms etc...i checked the LAN cable it is fine.. what to do
SjCc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 04:19 AM   #7
arnelgp
Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 6,847
Thanks: 55
Thanked 2,183 Times in 2,094 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

to create a persistent connection to the BE:

on the BE, add a dummy table (tblDummy) with 1 field (fld1, number, long) + autonumber field.

add 1 record (any number).


on the FE , create a link to tblDummy.

create a form using tblDummy, make the form Pop-up.
resize the form to the minimum.

on a Standard Module, add a Public Function (any name).
inside this function is to open the pop-up form in Hidden mode.
Code:
public function fncOpenHidden()
docmd.OpenForm "NameOfPopUpForm",,,,,acHidden
now create a macro that will call this function:
Code:
RunCode: fncOpenHidden()
name your macro AutoExec. this will run everytime your FE is started.

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to arnelgp For This Useful Post:
SjCc (10-16-2018)
Old 10-16-2018, 04:44 AM   #8
SjCc
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SjCc is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
to create a persistent connection to the BE:

on the BE, add a dummy table (tblDummy) with 1 field (fld1, number, long) + autonumber field.

add 1 record (any number).


on the FE , create a link to tblDummy.

create a form using tblDummy, make the form Pop-up.
resize the form to the minimum.

on a Standard Module, add a Public Function (any name).
inside this function is to open the pop-up form in Hidden mode.
Code:
public function fncOpenHidden()
docmd.OpenForm "NameOfPopUpForm",,,,,acHidden
now create a macro that will call this function:
Code:
RunCode: fncOpenHidden()
name your macro AutoExec. this will run everytime your FE is started.
Thanks a lot!!

But suppose if FE is Idle for 10-15 minutes then will it continue to start or again that error which i am facing.. please tell me is it not a laptop sleep issue as the said laptop sleeps after 5 minutes and we face this ??

Thanks again for your effort and time for me
SjCc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 04:51 AM   #9
arnelgp
Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 6,847
Thanks: 55
Thanked 2,183 Times in 2,094 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

then prevent the laptop from sleeping (energy drink perhaps).
configure it on control panel->power.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to arnelgp For This Useful Post:
SjCc (10-16-2018)
Old 10-16-2018, 04:55 AM   #10
SjCc
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SjCc is on a distinguished road
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
then prevent the laptop from sleeping (energy drink perhaps).
configure it on control panel->power.


Yes Energy Drink !!!!!

Means is it possible that if laptop is in sleep mood then it may hang or drop LAN connection for a while till any application re-activate it ? is it possible?
SjCc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 04:55 AM   #11
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 5,676
Thanks: 137
Thanked 1,531 Times in 1,503 Posts
Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Yes afraid so - if your laptop goes to sleep, than it normally shuts down your network connection to preserve power. So even a access "forced" background connection doesn't persist. Which will cause an access error.

Only thing you can do is prevent the sleep mode if the laptop is plugged into the mains connection, if it's plugged in you don't need it to sleep. Just turn the monitor off to prevent screen burn.
__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 05:18 AM   #12
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10,433
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,367 Times in 3,262 Posts
CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

not sure if it makes a difference or meets your requirements, but you could try using screensaver rather than sleep.
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CJ_London For This Useful Post:
SjCc (10-16-2018)
Old 10-16-2018, 11:15 PM   #13
SjCc
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 40
Thanks: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
SjCc is on a distinguished road
Re: Access Accdb 2010 slow on Ethernet

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ_London View Post
not sure if it makes a difference or meets your requirements, but you could try using screensaver rather than sleep.
Checked and done...

Sleep was the culprit ....

Perfect now after setting it to Never... Thanks for all who shared their comments and time....

SjCc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Access 2000 .mdb to .accdb using Access 2010 BennyLinton General 4 10-27-2017 08:01 AM
Slow printing in Access 2010 Ottomatic Reports 6 03-30-2013 08:10 AM
Question Access 2010 got slow joeKra General 0 10-10-2012 01:50 PM
Access 2007 .accdb not working in 2010 ScottK1396 General 0 07-16-2012 06:59 AM
Can not run Macro written in Access 2010 (.accdb) monicaj705 Macros 0 11-21-2011 09:19 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World