Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2006, 04:02 PM   #1
Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Bee is an unknown quantity at this point
Very slow DB

Hi,

My DB is very slow when it's used by more than 1 person at a time. It's divided into FE/BE. The BE is in a shared server and a copy of the FE is in each person's machine.

I don't know why it takes ages to respond. Any help will be very much appreciated.

Regards,
B

__________________
Bees work hard, live hard and die hard.
Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 01:04 AM   #2
MStef
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Zagreb - Croatia
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 84 Times in 77 Posts
MStef will become famous soon enough MStef will become famous soon enough
Try to COMPACT Be and all Fe.
MStef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 02:51 AM   #3
John.Woody
Newly Registered User
 
John.Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Polesworth, Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
John.Woody is on a distinguished road
I have found this helps on all systems Win2k and above except WinXP Home
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/150384/

John.Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 02:33 PM   #4
Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Bee is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by MStef
Try to COMPACT Be and all Fe.
I have done that before I loaded them into the server. But it did not help.
__________________
Bees work hard, live hard and die hard.
Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 03:02 PM   #5
Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Bee is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by John.Woody
I have found this helps on all systems Win2k and above except WinXP Home
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/150384/
It's a good article. Have you tried it?
__________________
Bees work hard, live hard and die hard.
Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:09 AM   #6
gemma-the-husky
Super Moderator
 
gemma-the-husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 13,769
Thanks: 55
Thanked 1,022 Times in 988 Posts
gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all
i have a similar problem. There is a larger MS support article including that and several other ideas. I haven't got the reference but search for "Performance Issues" in MS Knowledge base.

it includes this delay, also long file paths, autolookuptables in A2003 (thats not the right word), manitaining a permanent link to the be dbs, and others.

I have a large DBS >30Mb thats really quick with one user, and really slow with more than one. All the switchboard does is check the validity of the table links by testing one file, and checks a user table to see if the user is already active, but it can be really slow even doing this. So its definitely not a data transfer issue. It was originally A97, and performed better, but there are now a few A2003 features.

I've thought of migrating to SQL but I didn't really want to have to do that.

One thing A2003 definitely is much slower than A97 on equivalent machines. I think A2003 must need a bigger machine than A97.

Any thoughts, anyone?
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:34 AM   #7
John.Woody
Newly Registered User
 
John.Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Polesworth, Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 354
Thanks: 2
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
John.Woody is on a distinguished road
Yes Bee I have used it in numerous offices and it has made a difference every time.

John.Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 04:41 AM   #8
Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Bee is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by John.Woody
Yes Bee I have used it in numerous offices and it has made a difference every time.
Cool, will give it ago then.
I have a lot of queries with many search criterias that I use for search e.g. users can type a character and then all persons' names that start with that char will come up. Since, it's bringing data over a network, I thought that may slow the performance down.

I can remember reading in this forum or somewhere else that to optimize DB performance, you don't bind your forms/queries to the DB all the time. You just create a refresh button that refreshes data from the DB whenever you need to.

Does anyone know anything about this technique? Do queries remain active in A2003 and A2000 when not used?
__________________
Bees work hard, live hard and die hard.

Last edited by Bee; 11-10-2006 at 04:50 AM.
Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 04:43 AM   #9
Bee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 487
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Bee is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemma-the-husky
i have a similar problem. There is a larger MS support article including that and several other ideas. I haven't got the reference but search for "Performance Issues" in MS Knowledge base.

it includes this delay, also long file paths, autolookuptables in A2003 (thats not the right word), manitaining a permanent link to the be dbs, and others.

I have a large DBS >30Mb thats really quick with one user, and really slow with more than one. All the switchboard does is check the validity of the table links by testing one file, and checks a user table to see if the user is already active, but it can be really slow even doing this. So its definitely not a data transfer issue. It was originally A97, and performed better, but there are now a few A2003 features.

I've thought of migrating to SQL but I didn't really want to have to do that.

One thing A2003 definitely is much slower than A97 on equivalent machines. I think A2003 must need a bigger machine than A97.

Any thoughts, anyone?
I only use A2000 - A2003. I have no idea.

__________________
Bees work hard, live hard and die hard.
Bee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow performance (REALLY slow!) shacket General 29 10-06-2011 12:33 PM
Slow network database tinwolf General 2 02-08-2006 01:13 AM
Is Tab form Very slow newtovb Forms 1 12-06-2005 07:14 AM
Slow subform Pauldohert General 2 06-03-2005 01:21 AM
Why is DCount super slow rosenn Modules & VBA 10 03-17-2003 09:16 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World