Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2019, 04:27 AM   #1
templeowls
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
templeowls is on a distinguished road
Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

So basically I have a table with thousands of events (complaints, injuries, compliments, etc.) for our retail stores.

I'm looking to create a report with a standardized format that shows the events that a user wants. So hypothetically, the user would:
- write down the events that they want a report on (let's say ID 454, 786, and 908)
- click the report; it would prompt the user to type in the IDs the report needs to show, and the user would type them in and press enter
- The report would generate a document that has a standardized format that allows the user to print it / save it / etc.

Does anyone have a walkthrough guide or link to video of how to do this? Or is able to walk me through this?

Thanks!!!

templeowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 04:33 AM   #2
jdraw
Super Moderator
 
jdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada;West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 12,273
Thanks: 96
Thanked 2,030 Times in 1,977 Posts
jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

Reporting is done from the database.You haven't told us anything about your database -the tables, relationships....
Here is a link to several articles on Database Planning and Design that may be helpful.

Having to manually find and record/write down IDs seems to be a non-optimal approach, but we need more info if we are to offer more focused responses.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 04:49 AM   #3
templeowls
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
templeowls is on a distinguished road
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

It's a rather simple table. There are 8 columns in the table:

- Access generated ID
- Date & time of event
- Submitted by
- Event Type (complaint, injury, etc.)
- Location
- Employee(s) involved
- Description
- Follow-up

There's no relationships set up. Then, I have 1 form that managers use to add to that "Follow-up" column. And yea, certainly the plan is make finding the events someone is looking for a bit easier, but ultimately for now, I think just generating the report by inputting the ID will be greatly beneficial. If you have a streamlined approach, by all means

templeowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 04:55 AM   #4
jdraw
Super Moderator
 
jdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada;West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 12,273
Thanks: 96
Thanked 2,030 Times in 1,977 Posts
jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

You might get some ideas from Martin Green's Dynamic Reports.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:10 AM   #5
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,194
Thanks: 10
Thanked 226 Times in 214 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

cross posted
https://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=77224
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:15 AM   #6
templeowls
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
templeowls is on a distinguished road
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

Sorry didn't realize that wasn't allowed. I'll try to delete the other one
templeowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:25 AM   #7
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,194
Thanks: 10
Thanked 226 Times in 214 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by templeowls View Post
Sorry didn't realize that wasn't allowed. I'll try to delete the other one
As noted there, it's allowed. Declaring it with a link to the other post (both ways) is acceptable practice I think. However, I'm not going to extrapolate on the whole subject. Mr Excel called me out for posting the usual link on the etiquette of this topic so I don't any more. I don't go there either.


Maybe just modify your posts with links?

__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 07:04 AM   #8
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,433
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,410 Times in 1,391 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by templeowls View Post
It's a rather simple table. There are 8 columns in the table:

- Access generated ID
- Date & time of event
- Submitted by
- Event Type (complaint, injury, etc.)
- Location
- Employee(s) involved
- Description
- Follow-up

There's no relationships set up. Then, I have 1 form that managers use to add to that "Follow-up" column. And yea, certainly the plan is make finding the events someone is looking for a bit easier, but ultimately for now, I think just generating the report by inputting the ID will be greatly beneficial. If you have a streamlined approach, by all means
Hi. Let's say you have a report based on the table data you want to show and you're able to filter it by the ID number. One way to do it is to create a parameter query where it asks/prompts the user to enter the ID numbers. The result of the query should then be filtered to those entered ID numbers. You can then use this query for your report.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 07:50 AM   #9
templeowls
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
templeowls is on a distinguished road
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

That's what we do now, but the issue is the reports are never standardized. Basically when a manager does this, they create a new report and it's always different than one before and after it.

Is there a way that this query could flow into a pre-set report template?
templeowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 07:53 AM   #10
templeowls
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
templeowls is on a distinguished road
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

And I can't post the crosspost link, as I haven't posted to required 10 posts yet
templeowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 07:54 AM   #11
jdraw
Super Moderator
 
jdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada;West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 12,273
Thanks: 96
Thanked 2,030 Times in 1,977 Posts
jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

Can you describe what exactly this means (examples please)
Quote:
it's always different than one before and after
.

What specifically is the same from one to another?
You can have several "reports" that could have parameters for Dates, Employee, Customer..., but something has to be consistent to call it a template.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 08:02 AM   #12
jdraw
Super Moderator
 
jdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada;West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 12,273
Thanks: 96
Thanked 2,030 Times in 1,977 Posts
jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

You can attach if you make it ZIP file.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 08:09 AM   #13
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,433
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,410 Times in 1,391 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by templeowls View Post
That's what we do now, but the issue is the reports are never standardized. Basically when a manager does this, they create a new report and it's always different than one before and after it.

Is there a way that this query could flow into a pre-set report template?
Ah, okay, so I think you're asking how to make a dynamic report. Yes, this is possible but will take a lot of work to set up. I think there may be some demos available for this. Let me take a look and I'll let you know if I find any.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 08:34 AM   #14
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,343
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,670 Times in 3,538 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

seems to me you probably need more than one table

- Access generated ID
- Date & time of event
- Submitted by
- Event Type (complaint, injury, etc.)
- Location
- Employee(s) involved
- Description
- Follow-up

items in green - probably just a lookup table, Item in orange requiring a many to many table and the one in red is rather vague - do you just mean one of your stores? or a location within a store?

And how do you expect someone to remember the access generated iD's? Do they do some sort of search? - could take some time if there are thousands of records.

If your users are looking through a list, you might find this link of interest https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...d.php?t=289116
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 08:51 AM   #15
templeowls
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
templeowls is on a distinguished road
Re: Report that prompts ID number, and then creates report based on that ID(s)

So locations refers to our stores. We have 18 stores so it could 1 of 18. And we have a form where users look at an event in its entirely. So basically users "control+f" and type in an employee's name (to see all the events associated with one employee) and then write down the IDs associated. Primitive, I know, but streamlining that is for another day.

In regards to the reports being different, users will run a query and then run their own report and they need manipulate all the cells in order to make it printer friendly and it's a hassle and never the same. It'd be nice to just have a pre-set template (if possible) where users can just always use that and not have to manipulate a new report every time.

templeowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Report creating extra pages based on number of sub report entries NLW-John Reports 5 11-01-2018 12:33 AM
Report & query (report's Record Source) prompts me for Parameter rmrufe Reports 17 01-08-2017 12:08 PM
ACCESS prompts for index number upon running a report jasminewhite Reports 3 12-09-2011 03:06 AM
Generating a report based on a number value Galphanore Reports 8 04-28-2006 09:29 AM
number of records in report based on number in table shanu Reports 0 01-26-2005 09:49 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World