Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2019, 02:34 AM   #1
thaonguyen
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thaonguyen is on a distinguished road
How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Hi everyone,

So I am just modifying a free and existing database that I found to suit what I want because I am not super familiar with Access.

I have a form called frmHome with 3 buttons. First button called "Log Attendance". On Click, another form called frmClassAttendance is opened with a combo box, some textboxes that will be automatically filled based on combo box selection and a subform that runs an append qry on Click of a button.

I worked on this in another format with one more step and it worked and then I decided to simplify it. But now wheneve I click on "Log Attendance", a message comes up that says "Enter Parameter Value - Text28". And I have looked at all the forms and all the queries and I don't see Text28 anywhere.

How do I go about this please?

thaonguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:40 AM   #2
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,629 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

put Log Attendance in Design view.
check for controlsource Text28 or check the form's recordsource (table/query) for text28.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:44 AM   #3
thaonguyen
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thaonguyen is on a distinguished road
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Hi arnelgp, I already did. I looked under queries, criteria and I even attempted to delete the forms and started the 2 forms again but every time that "Log Attendance" button is clicked, the error pops up.

thaonguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:45 AM   #4
Ranman256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: KY,USA
Posts: 3,369
Thanks: 0
Thanked 742 Times in 727 Posts
Ranman256 will become famous soon enough Ranman256 will become famous soon enough
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

In form properties,
At the top of the property window is a drop box that has all textboxes listed.
Select yours and it will highlight on the form.

Also check the query.
Ranman256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:05 AM   #5
thaonguyen
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thaonguyen is on a distinguished road
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Hi Ranman, I did that too and still couldn't find Text28 anywhere...
thaonguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:17 AM   #6
thaonguyen
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thaonguyen is on a distinguished road
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

The only thing that messes this thing up is the Macro that opens the form but again, there is just one action in that Macro...
thaonguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 03:32 AM   #7
jdraw
Super Moderator
 
jdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada;West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 12,232
Thanks: 92
Thanked 2,025 Times in 1,972 Posts
jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Perhaps you could post a copy of your database.Readers don't need all the data, only a few records to "exercise" the database.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 05:08 AM   #8
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,629 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

check the query again, check if there is Parameter.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 05:36 AM   #9
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,557
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,682 Times in 1,560 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

If there is a module associated with this database, get into the VBA code editor and search the code for that string "Text28." Look for it to be part of a bit of dynamic SQL-string building, perhaps. When you do the search, you can set the scope to "whole project" so you don't have to repeat the search for every class module.

If it isn't a parameter, as Arnel suggested, and you can't find it anywhere else, it may be that the reference in a query only exists dynamically at run-time.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 07:10 AM   #10
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 57
Thanked 1,272 Times in 1,253 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaonguyen View Post
The only thing that messes this thing up is the Macro that opens the form but again, there is just one action in that Macro...
Hi. Have you checked the form the macro is trying to open and see if maybe Text28 is being referenced in there somewhere?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 09:49 AM   #11
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,253
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,592 Times in 1,512 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Check the properties on the Data tab of the form properties dialog. If you ever sorted by this control, there may be a sort left in the properties.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 11:37 AM   #12
thaonguyen
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thaonguyen is on a distinguished road
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Hi everyone,

Here is the database. It seems to be working for what I intended (80%). So after I click on "Show registers", an Appen query is ran where the data is saved into the table tblClassAttendance and Status is set to Present but the Tutor can change it. Because of the Text28, it doesn't show now.

I just only started so I want to develop this further. I know there are things that I complicated too much but I got myself into this by simplifying things...

Please can you take a look and let me know. I really tried everything and couldn't find Text28 anywhere.
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Database sample.accdb (1.06 MB, 8 views)
thaonguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 11:50 AM   #13
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,809
Thanks: 57
Thanked 1,272 Times in 1,253 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaonguyen View Post
Hi everyone,

Here is the database. It seems to be working for what I intended (80%). So after I click on "Show registers", an Appen query is ran where the data is saved into the table tblClassAttendance and Status is set to Present but the Tutor can change it. Because of the Text28, it doesn't show now.

I just only started so I want to develop this further. I know there are things that I complicated too much but I got myself into this by simplifying things...

Please can you take a look and let me know. I really tried everything and couldn't find Text28 anywhere.
Hi. Here's where it's asking/looking for Text28 in your form.





If you take them out, you should be fine.
Attached Images
File Type: png text28.PNG (36.8 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 12:46 PM   #14
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,253
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,592 Times in 1,512 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: How to find a textbox that I have no idea existed

Normally you would want to replace them with the correct master/child field names rather than simply removing them. Removing the master/child link will make the subform fail. However, your main form seems to be unbound so I agree with theDBGuy. Just remove them.

@thaonguyen,
I'm guessing that this form is one of those things that you've over complicated. From just the little I can see, it looks like the subform is not bound to the correct RecordSet.

__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GETOBJECT to know that file existed rickyfong General 2 12-11-2015 10:19 PM
I have an idea but I have no idea where to start isapple General 7 06-26-2014 04:58 AM
Textbox Value Find Primary key aron.ridgway Modules & VBA 5 05-01-2014 07:10 AM
Find Name of Textbox Hdata Modules & VBA 3 01-30-2014 12:10 PM
Record existed but getting error message firework Forms 2 01-23-2008 02:57 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World