Formatting numbers as addresses (1 Viewer)

fendermate

Local time
Today, 07:13
My database is a maintenance record of our building complex. The unit/building number is the key field. The problem I am having is having access recognizing the unit numbers and building numbers, not as whole numbers.
Example: I-380, 10-380, 2-390, 13-370, and so on. When sorted, access treats them as whole numbers. I have tried two separate fields but it would be nice to have only one field and be sorted by building numbers.
I am not a coder so be gentle.
Can you help?

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 15:13
is the first one a letter I?

what sort order are you tring to achieve, with these examples

fendermate

Local time
No, they are all numbers.
It would be nice to sort by building number eg. 1-370, 2-370, 3-370, etc.
There are three buildings, #370, #380 & #390 and each building's units are numbered 1 to 23.
Does that help?

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
but what sort order are you trying to achieve, and what order are you getting?

neileg

AWF VIP
Local time
You have two different pieces of data, the building number and the unit number, so they should be stored in different fields. You can concatenate then into one in a query or a form or report. Sorting on the individual fields is then easy.

SInce this is the tables forum, I'm concerned that you are worrying about order in the table. Don't, apply the sort in your form or report.

fendermate

Local time
I presently have split the data into two fields and have no problems. What I'm doing is creating an entry form for others not so diligent with Access. If I stay with this design, I will have to figure out how to set up a search box to include both pieces of data; the unit number and the building number.
Is that possible with Access? It would solve a few problems.

fendermate

Local time