Question How to convert one mdb to another differently structured mdb (1 Viewer)

GrandiJoos

Local time
Today, 21:35
Hi all,

First of all, I'm a newbie at programming in MS Access and VB but can and want to learn.

I want to write a (possibly MS Access) program that takes one (external) MS Access database, checks if the needed tables/fields are present and then converts it to another (external) MS Access database with (of course) a different structure.

How should I attack this? Should this be a form (most likely a wizard) with macros/modules/etc. behind it? How do I start (I find that the most difficult :p)
Its not supposed to be a fool proof program, its only used to demonstrate that the data conversion behind it works. If we can proof that, we will implement the logic in another program.

Hope anybody can help me! Thanks in advance,

GrandiJoos

DCrake

Remembered
Local time
Today, 20:35
When you talk about a different structure what do you really mean?

What is the object of the exercise?
Does the data in the source mdb need to migrated to the tartget mdb?
Are you taking about selective copying and pasting of table and/or fields?

More info please.

David

GrandiJoos

Local time
Hi David,

First of all, thanks for your reply.

The source database is a selection of tables and fields from an application and we need to transform this data to another structure for use in an analysis tool. So, in essence, we will be selecting data from the source database, maybe convert it in some way (split or merge fields, perform calculations etc.) and store it in another database with a predefined structure.

The source database should not be changed (although it is a copy of the real data of course) and (some of) the data needs to be transferred and converted to the other database.

The conversion itself can be done without user interaction, as long as the predefined tables and fields are present.

Hope this clarifies my problem, thanks for helping in advance!

GrandiJoos