Using a table without a primary key? (1 Viewer)

dmckie250

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:00
Hi Everyone,

I have been developing a excel workbook/access database system for the last several months and all of a sudden there's been a change of requirements.

One aspect of the system is the tracking of telecoms equipment that has been provided to employees. Now different employees may have different cell phone accounts over time, and each cell phone account may have a number of items of related equipment (replacement handsets/accessories)

The telecoms request table previously had the primary key Request # as an autonumber and Cell Phone # as a foreign key, and contained all the details of the requests (e.g. request type/equipment details). Cell Phone # is the primary key of the Cell Phone # table, which has Employee ID as a foreign key and contains the details of the cell phone account. Employee ID is the Primary Key of the Personnel Details table.

This was all working fine, until the powers that be have decided that they want the telecoms to be ordered earlier in the new employee recruitment process, so now I have to upload the details of the telecoms request without knowing the Cell Phone Number.

This would be fine except that i can't then use an update/append query to update the Cell phone request via the excel workbook as more details become available. One solution I was considering was using a Requisition approval number for the Request #, which would allow me to omit the Cell Phone number until later when it became available. However, as this requisition number is only for new orders, that would mean I have a blank for Request # for the rest of my requests....

This is quite a complicated problem, and the only way I can think of to get it working in all situations is without using any primary key at all.