Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2011, 06:50 AM   #1
neilbmclaughlin
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
neilbmclaughlin is on a distinguished road
Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

I am attempting to deploy a runtime version of a 35 user Access 2007 system using SQL Server at the back-end to Windows 2008 Server with terminal services.

So,
  • I can create a runtime package (.accde) for the application using Access 2010.
  • I can run the runtime file locally without any problems
  • I can run the runtime file on a Windows 2008 server with terminal services and a full install of MS Office 2010 without problems. I do get the Microsoft Security Access Warning about not being able to ensure it is from a trustworthy source but can OK through that and the application runs.

However ...
  • If I remove the full Office install and try to run the application using the Access 2010 runtime only then I get the same security warning but following that then the macro step debugger appears with an error (see below)
  • The only option available at this point is to stop the application.
  • I have added a simple dialog box at the beginning of the AutoExec function which appears when run locally but not when running on the server.

Error details:

Macroname: AutoExec
ActionName: RunCode
Arguments: Autoexec()
Error Number: 2001

Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this or how I can go about diagnosing the problem.

Thanks in advance

Neil

neilbmclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 02:51 AM   #2
PaulO
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND
Posts: 421
Thanks: 13
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
PaulO is on a distinguished road
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

Sounds like perhaps your Autoexec startup macro has a fault? I'd look at that first.

Also, as far as i'm aware, you don't need to uninstall any other Office products to accommodate a Runtime application.
__________________
I used to think I knew a bit about Access till I found this site ... !
PaulO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 02:07 AM   #3
neilbmclaughlin
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
neilbmclaughlin is on a distinguished road
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

Thanks for the response.

I think I had worked out that the problem was with autoexec. My problems are:
  • understanding why the *.accde file runs OK when full Access is installed but not when only the runtime is installed
  • how to debug this. I would normally drop some message dialogs into autoexec to work out where it breaks but the message dialog at the very top of autoexec does not get displayed when run using the runtime (it does get displayed when using full Access)

I think this means that the runtime fails when asked to run autoexec not when actually running it.

Any suggestions gratefully received!

Neil

PS I'm an Access newbie but an experienced .NET developer

neilbmclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 02:40 AM   #4
PaulO
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: HAMPSHIRE, ENGLAND
Posts: 421
Thanks: 13
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
PaulO is on a distinguished road
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

am attempting to deploy a runtime version of a 35 user Access 2007 system using SQL Server at the back-end to Windows 2008 Server with terminal services.

So,
  • I can create a runtime package (.accde) for the application using Access 2010.
Just a question on the scenario that you have ... if its an Access 2007 file (accdb) you should perhaps try deploying it with Microsoft Access Runtime 2007 (accdr). I run some 2007 runtime applications (with autoexec macros) and haven't yet encountered the problems you're experiencing.
__________________
I used to think I knew a bit about Access till I found this site ... !
PaulO is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulO For This Useful Post:
neilbmclaughlin (02-21-2011)
Old 02-21-2011, 02:44 AM   #5
neilbmclaughlin
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
neilbmclaughlin is on a distinguished road
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

Thanks, I'll give it a try and post back what I find.
neilbmclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 03:29 AM   #6
pjs
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pjs is on a distinguished road
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

We do everything you do except use run time. Add the Access front-end (mde) to each user profile and go for it. Understand the licence issue but often these are available for most users already runnig Office.
pjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 09:27 AM   #7
neilbmclaughlin
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
neilbmclaughlin is on a distinguished road
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

OK, I finally got to the bottom of this.

There were dependencies in the application on Outlook and Excel so removing the full Office install broke the dependency and prevented AutoExec from even starting running when using the runtime. This explains the failure of my diagnostic message box to appear.

So if we want to use just the runtime we will need to change our code.

Cheers

Neil

neilbmclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 12:15 PM   #8
Simon_MT
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,177
Thanks: 2
Thanked 162 Times in 158 Posts
Simon_MT has a spectacular aura about Simon_MT has a spectacular aura about
Re: Access runtime on Windows Server 2008 with Terminal Services

Unless there have been changes to the licensing on the Terminal Server, the cost of additional users was mininal, you could consider running mde or accde. There is only one version of the Office application - just many users.

Simon

Simon_MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
runtime , terminal services

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Windows 2008 Server and Access 97 gregoryagu General 14 07-19-2010 12:19 PM
Question MS Access 2007 & Windows Server 2008 abbaddon223 General 1 06-16-2010 03:54 AM
Access 2002 runtime install Windows Server 2008 fcancelier General 1 11-24-2009 02:40 AM
Windows 2008 + Sql Server 2005 64 bit and Access 2007 as an adp file? Hellgofi SQL Server 0 10-27-2008 03:26 PM
Access runtime on terminal server mn7 General 2 11-30-2007 03:13 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World