Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 03:12 PM   #1
spikepl
Eledittingent Beliped
 
spikepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Serriffe
Posts: 6,144
Thanks: 77
Thanked 980 Times in 958 Posts
spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough
Error 3270 property not found

A2007. I get the 3270 error when saying Cancel in BeforeUpdate of a combo (whether or not I Undo the combo). I have no clue where it comes from, the debugger does not help: I step through my BeforeUpdate, and the next thing after exiting the sub is whammo.. error 3270.

Initially the thing just said property not found, but I got the error out of the form's OnError handler.

The combo is a bound control in rows displayed in datasheet view of a subform.

It's a bit tricky to extract a skeleton version to illustrate the error, so before doing that I was hoping someone might provide some hints as to how to track down this error. I could set the handler to ignore it , since apparently nothing bad happens, but it's just a bit annoying and inexplicable.

spikepl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 04:01 PM   #2
spikepl
Eledittingent Beliped
 
spikepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Serriffe
Posts: 6,144
Thanks: 77
Thanked 980 Times in 958 Posts
spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough
Re: Error 3270 property not found

It turned out to be easy to reproduce - simply cancel the update in a combobox embedded in a row and it comes up with the Property not found.. A small table with the combo embedded attached. In the combo's BeforeUpdate I cancel the update . and get the error.
Attached Files
File Type: accdb SomeDB.accdb (332.0 KB, 364 views)
spikepl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:32 PM   #3
vbaInet
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: U.K.
Posts: 26,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2,423 Times in 2,389 Posts
vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all
Re: Error 3270 property not found

Interesting error spikepl. I can only conclude that this must be something that the developers have overlooked. I tried it in Single Form and Continuous Form View and it worked. I also thought that perhaps if the Row Source was a query it will work and it didn't. It just doesn't work in Datasheet view.

See attached a workaround.
Attached Files
File Type: accdb SomeDB.accdb (416.0 KB, 479 views)

vbaInet is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vbaInet For This Useful Post:
spikepl (10-21-2011)
Old 10-21-2011, 10:45 PM   #4
spikepl
Eledittingent Beliped
 
spikepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Serriffe
Posts: 6,144
Thanks: 77
Thanked 980 Times in 958 Posts
spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough
Re: Error 3270 property not found

Thanks vbaInet - I spent quite some time yesterday before reaching the conclusion that it possibly was a built-in "feature"

And it was. Never thought about using DoCmd.CancelEvent to bypass the "feature" generated by Cancel=True
spikepl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 11:34 PM   #5
spikepl
Eledittingent Beliped
 
spikepl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Serriffe
Posts: 6,144
Thanks: 77
Thanked 980 Times in 958 Posts
spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough spikepl is a jewel in the rough
Re: Error 3270 property not found

If this feature also is present in A2010, then perhaps it would be sensible to send a copy to the codemeisters i Redmond. Ye possessors of A2010 who read this, do not abandon all hope but yell so MS hears it.
spikepl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 01:16 AM   #6
vbaInet
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: U.K.
Posts: 26,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2,423 Times in 2,389 Posts
vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all
Re: Error 3270 property not found

Quote:
Originally Posted by spikepl View Post
Thanks vbaInet - I spent quite some time yesterday before reaching the conclusion that it possibly was a built-in "feature"
No problemo! It's definitely an built-in bug

vbaInet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Codes: 2950 & 3270 mlr Forms 6 04-28-2015 11:51 PM
DoCmd.TransferSpreadsheet 3270 error if spreadsheet closed completelybobbins Modules & VBA 1 09-17-2010 02:54 AM
Question Property not found (Error 3270) smd7m General 3 09-22-2009 03:15 AM
Error 3270 g28dman General 2 03-28-2007 05:48 PM
Runtime Error 3270 haj1503 Modules & VBA 1 07-09-2003 08:58 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World