Automating Access to Word With Bookmarks- Even Example Won't Work! (1 Viewer)

ro801

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:31
Hi
I'm a complete Access programming newbie. I have used Databases before but this is the first time of trying to do some really cool stuff. Essentially i'd like to merge Access field names into a Word document with bookmarks. I'm using Access and Word 2003. Eventually i'd like to attach this to a form button to automate the creation of new letters. Now i've tried some stuff with not much success so i tried using an example from the Micosoft support pages. It involved starting a new document, adding bookmarks to it then adding a command button to a form in the existing sample 'Northwind' database and using the following code as an event procedure (on click):

Private Sub MergeButton_Click()
On Error GoTo MergeButton_Err

Dim objWord As Word.Application

'Copy the Photo control on the Employees form.
DoCmd.GoToControl "Photo"
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdCopy

'Start Microsoft Word 97.
Set objWord = CreateObject("Word.Application")

With objWord
'Make the application visible.
.Visible = True

'Open the document.
.Documents.Open ("C:\MyMerge.doc")

'Move to each bookmark and insert text from the form.
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("First").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!FirstName))
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("Last").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!LastName))
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("Address").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!Address))
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("City").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!City))
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("Region").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!Region))
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("PostalCode").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!PostalCode))
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("Greeting").Select
.Selection.Text = (CStr(Forms!Employees!FirstName))

'Paste the photo.
.ActiveDocument.Bookmarks("Photo").Select
.Selection.Paste
End With