Error 32 bit Function in 64 bit environment (1 Viewer)

justphilip

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:03
I recently replaced my PC to one with MS Win 10 Pro (64 bit environment) o/s. I developed this DB over the last 10 - 15 years and I'm not a sharp techie!

My Access DB drop down menus are now giving me error messages; see attachments (name mistypes 33 ==> 32)!

How to fix these function errors - is it a simple name change for the "comdlg32.dll" to "comdlg64.dll"? TIA JP

Attachments

• 33 bit function error in 64 bit enviroment 2.jpg
    33 bit function error in 64 bit enviroment 2.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 392
  • 33 bit function error in 64 bit enviroment.jpg
    33 bit function error in 64 bit enviroment.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 341

Ranman256

Local time
Declare BOTH versions using PTRSAFE

Code:
#if Win64 then
   Declare PtrSafe Function MyMathFunc Lib "User32" (ByVal N As LongLong) As LongLong
#else
   Declare Function MyMathFunc Lib "User32" (ByVal N As Long) As Long
#end if

justphilip

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks for the responses. I should have mention that I am using Office 2010 Pro and that this problem first manifested itself when I restored my software to the new PC & Win 2010 Pro; prior to that instant the Office 2010 Pro functioned as expected.

The errant code was developed by Ken Getz and sadly, I am not familiar with declare statement nor the # construct. Does it matter where I place the new code; right after the “Option Explicit” statement? Do I place it in every occurrence of drop down menu logic? Or perhaps in a Form open logic?

#if Win64 then
Declare PtrSafe Function MyMathFunc Lib "User32" (ByVal N As LongLong) As LongLong
#else
Declare Function MyMathFunc Lib "User32" (ByVal N As Long) As Long
#end if

TIA JP

RuralGuy

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 00:03
Put the supplied code right where your existing highlighted code is located.

justphilip

Registered User.
Local time