extract certain data

mtagliaferri

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:34
I have a very simple question that I have not find the result or maybe I do not know what to look for!
I have a query containing a field named year and one named sales, what I need is to have a single result of total sales per year. example
year sales
2005 100
2005 100
2006 80
2006 70
2006 60

The result I would like to put then in a form is:
total 2005 200
total 2006 210

All this by simply running a query without indicating any parameters.

Thanks
M

This should be a simple totals query.

Try this SQL statement in your query, where Table1 is the name of the table containing your sales data:

SELECT DISTINCTROW Table1.Year, Sum(Table1.Sales) AS [Sum Of Sales]
FROM Table1
GROUP BY Table1.Year;

Hope this is the answer you are looking for.

JC

Hi JC, can you give me further details, I am quite new in access, do I have to create a query, or do I have to work on my form, sorry to ask again, put this problem doing my head in!!
Marco

Hi,

Sorry for the delayed response, was abroad on holiday.

You can simply put this into a query. (Remember to change the table name to the name that you are using!)

As you are new to Access, I hope this part isn't condescending but will explain how to create this query.

Assuming Access is open, click on 'Queries' within the object list to show you a list of any existing queries you may have.
Press 'NEW' and select 'Design Query' from the next selection window.
Your query window will appear with another window in front called 'Show Table'.
Hit cancel.
Then in the Query design window, press the right mouse button on the title bar and select 'SQL View' from the pop-up menu.
This window will change to a white screen.
It is in this screen that you should enter the SQL statement.

Again, I apologise if this is condescending but no harm done if you didn't know how to go about this.

Hope this helps,

JC