Macro to generate distinct reports based on different records

corai

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:27
Hi All,

I am trying to create a macro to export a report to pdf multiple times for a whole series of different records. The report (rptQryS) is essentially a template which contains different information depending on which record of a form (frmCompany) is selected.

I've had a go with the macro builder but haven't got very far as I'm new to all of this.

This is what I have so far:

'------------------------------------------------------------
' ReportGenerationMacro
'
Function ReportGenerationMacro()
On Error GoTo ReportGenerationMacro_Err
DoCmd.OpenForm "frmCOMPANY", acNormal, "", "", , acNormal
DoCmd.Save acForm, "frmCOMPANY"
DoCmd.RunMacro "Repeat", 3, ""

ReportGenerationMacro_Exit:
Exit Function
ReportGenerationMacro_Err:
MsgBox Error$
Resume ReportGenerationMacro_Exit
End Function

' ReportGenerationMacro_Repeat
'
Function ReportGenerationMacro_Repeat()
On Error GoTo ReportGenerationMacro_Repeat_Err
DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "rptQryS", "PDFFormat(*.pdf)", "\\Computer\x\y\z\REPORT\" & Forms!frmCompany!TradingName & ".pdf", False, "", , acExportQualityPrint
DoCmd.OpenForm "frmCOMPANY", acNormal, "", "", , acNormal
DoCmd.SearchForRecord acForm, "frmCOMPANY", acNext, ""
DoCmd.Requery ""

ReportGenerationMacro_Repeat_Exit:
Exit Function
ReportGenerationMacro_Repeat_Err:
MsgBox Error$
Resume ReportGenerationMacro_Repeat_Exit
End Function

This is currently giving me an error - "an expression argument 3 has an invalid value". Does anyone have any advice or perhaps there is a better way of doing this?

Many thanks in advance.

Wish I could help... I am also new to all of this. I will be watching this to see a good answer on this situation.

I suggest you use vba code to perform this task.

Your situation sounds similar to running monthly Statements for all customers.
ie One Report but you need it produced for each customer.