System Admin Tasked with converting ADP to ACCDB

jasieltego

Local time
Today, 07:48
Hi Everyone,

I have signed up to this forum to hopefully receive some guidance on a huge task , that's how it feels to me.
I recently have been poking around Macros and learning some VBA here and there. I'm a System Administrator, that somehow ends up doing a little bit of everything else.
We currently have a database we use that was created in 2010. I'm tasked with converting it to ACCDB.
I done some google searching and I have a starting point. I have indeed gotten a hold of the ADP file, and I have imported all the all the Modules, Reports and forms from the ADP. There were no tables in that ADP. Now that I have this, I'm not exactly sure what the next step is.

Is it getting a copy of the SQL Database?
Or is it converting the tables to local tables? However I don't see any tables at all in the ADP objects Imported.
Any Clarification would be very helpful.

Thanks

there were no tables because it is using ADO recordset.
with that you need to setup an ODBC connection to your sql server.
and you need to troubleshoot all Connection string that ADO is using
so you can connect to your database/tables.

there are lots on the Web on this topic, suggest you google them.

there were no tables because it is using ADO recordset.
with that you need to setup an ODBC connection to your sql server.
and you need to troubleshoot all Connection string that ADO is using
so you can connect to your database/tables.
Can I just make a backup of that DB and host it locally on another PC?
I don't want to mess up the live DB and it's connection.

If so, I can get this step completed fairly easily. I can then report back

Users should all be using their own copy of the Front End, so they should all currently have an ADP. You should be working on an accdb that you will give to everyone else once you've got it working and tested. So in the mean time other users should not be affected.