DB size? (1 Viewer)

Franknstuff

More I know Less I know
Local time
Yesterday, 18:12
I'm new at this and I was wondering what is considered a huge DB. Mine is only 7.8M and I just started?

21 forms
2 reports
4 querys
10 tables

Franknstuff

More I know Less I know
Local time
Confused

It wasn't a DB question. I just wanted to know what is the average? I was hoping to get a baseline of where my DB was compared to everyone elses.
Qty: Forms
Query's
Reports
Tables

I didn't know that this was a general question. Sorry.

namliam

The Mailman - AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 03:12
For any average app the numbers are not excessive, the size of the app is or may be. Everytime you create something and delete it access keeps the space in the db.

eg. you import a text file, size 10 megs, into a table. Then delete the table and reimport it. Your db is now 20! megs.
You need to do a compact and repair on a regular basis while developing.

Regards

M

Mike375

Franknstuff said:
I'm new at this and I was wondering what is considered a huge DB. Mine is only 7.8M and I just started?

21 forms
2 reports
4 querys
10 tables

Mine has well over 2000 macros, about 700 forms, 1200 queries and 300 tables.

Compacted and with records it is around 90 mb. Probably a 1/3rd of the data base is no longer used. This in Access 95.

So you have a way to go :D

Mike

Kodo

"The Shoe"
Local time
Yesterday, 21:12
2000 macros? ouch.. no wonder your db is so big.. how much of that is actual data ;)

M

Mike375

Kodo said:
2000 macros? ouch.. no wonder your db is so big.. how much of that is actual data ;)

I think it was about 60 mb with all records deleted and then compacted.

I still have some stuff in it from when I first started with Access in 1996 and sometimes come across it when I might alter a macro. I always find it interesting to see how I made some of the stuff back then.