Need help with Sql criteria and a Many to Many relationship (1 Viewer)

David8

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:05
I'm a beginner and mentally wrestling with a many-to-many relationship.

I have an IT equipment inventory database. The main table is All Equipment, and two lookup tables that it currently references are Manufacturer (where the choices for the Manufacturer field in the main table come from) and Item Type (where the choices for Item Type come from).

When a new piece of equipment is being entered into the database I want the Item Type to narrow down the list of items available in the Manufacturers lookup.

On the Manufacturers table I created a Item Type field which allows multiple choices. When you create a new Manufacturer, you simply tick which Item Types they produce in the Item Type field. The choices for that field come of course from Item Types table.

As a first step I then tried to create a criteria which reduces the options available under Manufacturer when entering a new items of equipment to the database. I started by trying to specify the Item Type myself within the criteria. So I tried to create a criteria that basically said "offer this manufacturer in the lookup list if the Item Types field within the Manufacturers table includes the value "Projectors". Put another way I wanted the criteria to look down the Manufacturers listed in the Manufacturers table and say for each one: 'does this manufactuer include "Projector" in the Item Type field'.