Relationships (1 Viewer)

torz

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:51
Hey Guys,

I've been trying to wrap my head around how relationships work and then once they are setup how that effects the design of forms, queries etc.
I'm rather new and I know what I currently have is no where near being setup correctly (have not used any relationships etc).

I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough & have enough time to take a look at what I have so far and then help make the changes required for relationships.

I haven't posted the current DB yet as I'll need to make a copy and remove a lot of the data that is currently in there, I just wanted to make sure someone is kind & willing enough to help before I make the copy :)

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 07:51
Well, IMHO getting the structure of the db and the relationships right is at the heart of creating a worthwhile db.
I am no expert but would be very happy to take a look and give some advice, whatever that may be worth. I'm sure there are many others here who would be happy to help, so my first piece of advice would be to go ahead, make the copy and post it:)

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I'll need to make a copy and remove a lot of the data that is currently in there
The easisest way is possibly to create a new db and just import the tables you require, setting the paramaters to structure only. Then repopulate with a few test records

torz

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you both!

I know there is probably a lot of work to get this to where it should be...
Any help you can provide would be amazing. with the login you can use
User: d393393
Pass: Temp123

You'll end up with errors poping up until you add details into the tblusersecurity_sec table (your login name for windows in the userID and an email address), have not finished fixing the dlookups to handle null values as it was not much of a concern in the environment it is being used.