Replace Query ; with a , (1 Viewer)

Arlmachado

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:53
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
17
Hello everyone,

I am trying to do a replace query on a column of my table, but it keeps giving me error. I believe it must be an error with the syntax.

I have attached what my column looks like below, and the type of fields there are. I always have a string of numbers plus letters, separated by a ";" and I wanted it to be a ","

How can I do that through a replace expression?

Any help is appreciated, thank you
 

Attachments

  • Bindungen.png
    Bindungen.png
    7.6 KB · Views: 81

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 04:53
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
18,221
I'm going to recommend a different approach instead

Strongly recommend you do not use a multi valued field as it will cause you major issues handling data in the future

Each part should be stored as a separate record.
So you will have 3 records in place of each one you have now
BUT the database will work FAR better

To separate the records, you could use the Split function
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 11:53
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,243
use Update Query:


Update yourTableName Set yourTableName.[Bindongen] = Replace(yourTableName.[Bindongen], ";", ",")
 

Arlmachado

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:53
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
17
The problem is I don´t know how to do that unfortunately and the solution needs to be easily done. I have built forms and other stuff around databases like that, so the change as to be minimal. Which is why I just wanted to change ";" to a "," which was used in the last table I worked with.
 

Arlmachado

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:53
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
17
use Update Query:


Update yourTableName Set yourTableName.[Bindongen] = Replace(yourTableName.[Bindongen], ";", ",")


I have tried it like this:
Update 1 Set 1.[Bindungen] = Replace(1.[Bindungen], ";", ",")

but it says there is an error with the Set 1.[Bindungen] part.
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 11:53
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,243
no, it wont work. it is the semicolon is tied to your Computer's Regional setting.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom