Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Queries

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2014, 12:14 PM   #1
trackmedic
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: raceland, la usa
Posts: 115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
trackmedic
Adding pull down menu to querie

I have a query built that gives me info per employee. I built a question into the criteria that ask for the employees name. When a person types the name results are given. If the person mispells the name, results are not given.

I have everyones name on a seperate table. How do i create a pull down menu on the query to choose the names?

As always thanks in advance.

trackmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 12:27 PM   #2
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,366
Thanks: 555
Thanked 948 Times in 897 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

Use a form with a combobox on it.
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 03:39 AM   #3
cruzinonline
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
cruzinonline is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

Uncle,
I have had the same issue in the past and was given the same response. The problem is, people like me don't quite understand exactly what that means. Creating the form, no problem, creating a combo box, well that is where we go all deer in the headlights. Do we make a combo box of the "names", that's easy enough but we don't understand how do we 'link" the combo box to the [Select Employee Name] or [Question] in the query. It seems like it is pretty easy but the last part is where newbies like myself get tripped up. Could you upload a "sample" data base that has what you are describing? It would be greatly appreciated.

cruzinonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 04:36 AM   #4
vbaInet
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: U.K.
Posts: 26,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2,423 Times in 2,389 Posts
vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

Even if Uncle were to upload a sample db it probably won't help your cause much. A video tutorial would be more useful and I would imagine you can find some on Youtube.

On the other hand, the moment you drop a combo box onto a form a wizard comes up so it's a matter of reading the instructions and following the wizard.
vbaInet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 04:39 AM   #5
pr2-eugin
Super Moderator
 
pr2-eugin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 8,498
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,067 Times in 2,014 Posts
pr2-eugin has a spectacular aura about pr2-eugin has a spectacular aura about pr2-eugin has a spectacular aura about
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbaInet View Post
A video tutorial would be more useful and I would imagine you can find some on Youtube.
Something like : http://www.datapigtechnologies.com/f...combobox1.html

(a bit outdated, but explains it to the basics).
__________________
Regards,
Paul Eugin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
!
Windows 7 Professional, MS Access 2010
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If the above post has helped you, please click the scales
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or click the 'Thumbs up'. Cheers.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



pr2-eugin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 05:08 AM   #6
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,366
Thanks: 555
Thanked 948 Times in 897 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

That data pig technologies video is an example of what I would term a self look up. It is getting its data from the actual table where the data selected by the combo box is return to. Although that video is a good example of using a combo box it misses one of the fundamental principles in using a combo box. The correct approach would be to keep the text data in a separate lookup table and only return the integer related to the particular row of text data.

I think I need to do some videos on correct combo box use!
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)

Last edited by Uncle Gizmo; 07-30-2014 at 05:10 AM. Reason: correction
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Uncle Gizmo For This Useful Post:
cruzinonline (07-30-2014)
Old 07-30-2014, 05:15 AM   #7
cruzinonline
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 13
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
cruzinonline is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

Thanks Uncle, I guess I'm one of those "visual" types, when I see something that works, I can go in and see how the parts connect, makes in click mentally.

cruzinonline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 05:16 AM   #8
vbaInet
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: U.K.
Posts: 26,374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2,423 Times in 2,389 Posts
vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all vbaInet is a name known to all
Re: Adding pull down menu to querie

The wizard too is visual enough.

vbaInet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pull down menu in query trackmedic Queries 1 05-22-2006 11:46 AM
limiting pull down list menu dsetiadi Modules & VBA 2 08-15-2005 06:09 AM
Pull down menu. Hintmeinaccess Forms 3 11-08-2004 12:34 PM
Creating pull down menu?? Ryan_APHIS Forms 3 06-20-2003 01:18 PM
Pull down menu VOLLEGAAS Forms 3 02-27-2003 02:41 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World