Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Excel

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2017, 09:11 AM   #1
AC5FF
Newly Registered User
 
AC5FF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rapid City SD
Posts: 533
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
AC5FF is on a distinguished road
Linking Access Query

I'm getting to the point I really dislike Office2016 products. Things that used to work for me or be easy to do have become nightmares....

I built a query in Access that I want to graph. I have always hated Access graphing (probably just inexperience) so I use Excel. I opened a new Excel document and went to Data - Get Data - etc... I chose my dbase and query. All seemed to be fine.

But all I get is the column headings but zero data.
I've closed the dbase; saved/closed Excel and reopened; refreshed data; etc.

Nothing I seem to do is getting my data into Access (short of cut/paste - which works but won't link or refresh).

Any ideas?

__________________
If flying were the language of men than soaring would be his poetry.
AC5FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 09:20 AM   #2
Ranman256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: KY,USA
Posts: 2,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 538 Times in 524 Posts
Ranman256 will become famous soon enough
Re: Linking Access Query

so the query works in Access?
and the query ,via ADO, does NOT work in Excel?

are you using CopyFromRecordset?
Ranman256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 10:38 AM   #3
AC5FF
Newly Registered User
 
AC5FF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rapid City SD
Posts: 533
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
AC5FF is on a distinguished road
Re: Linking Access Query

Yes, query works in access.

Never caught on to ADO; but when I click 'get data' 'from database' 'from access database' then choose the dbase with the query a new window opens up called "navigator". I scroll down to the query I want and the right side shows the column names, but also shows 'this table is empty'

I just looked at several queries in this database, some show data here and some don't.

Not sure why.

Also; i'm not using 'copyfromrecordset' to the best of my knowledge....

__________________
If flying were the language of men than soaring would be his poetry.
AC5FF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access 97 Linking to tables in Access 2000 Amileaux General 6 10-16-2013 04:55 AM
Question Linking Access query to Excel ph00086 General 3 08-22-2012 03:12 AM
Linking Access Query of Query to Excel - Blank Result nguyeda Queries 4 05-16-2011 06:41 AM
Linking an Access query to excel spreadsheet Neil_Pattison General 1 10-13-2007 07:39 PM
linking excel sheet to access and adjust access table format. tarek_habal Tables 0 11-28-2006 10:50 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World