Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2019, 01:58 PM   #1
Djblois
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 592
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Djblois is on a distinguished road
Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

I have an Access Database that I created for users to do special orders. Inside the office it is quite fast but when users go out of the office, on their laptops and using a remote desktop connection, the speed is super slow. I already gave them a copy of the front end on their machines to reduce that load that needs to go over the network - it is faster but still very slow. Now, I was wondering if I switch the backend to SQL server (which we have a license) if that would be a significant difference? This is a big job that if not worth it would be a waste. There are not gigabyte's of data. Should it make it quicker?

Djblois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 02:04 PM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,240
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,678 Times in 1,633 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

Hi. Unfortunately, simply upgrading the BE to SQL Server doesn't automatically means "better." There are other factors involved. Your FE might be fine with using SQL Server, or it might need to be "optimized" to use SQL Server because it's pretty much stuck with the Access way of doing things. It's had to tell without seeing or knowing anything about the database and how it's used. Just my 2 cents...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 03:06 PM   #3
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,390
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,687 Times in 3,551 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

I agree with DBG - Access as a db is as 'fast' as SQL server. What matters is the way your db is designed and the speed of the connection.

See this link about optimising the design of your app - all things you would need to do if you moved to SQL server https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...d.php?t=291269

With regards the connection, investigate what bandwidth your remote desktop has available to it - it may be the bandwidth can be improved - at both ends

__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 03:11 PM   #4
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 15,068
Thanks: 100
Thanked 1,890 Times in 1,726 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

Quote:
I already gave them a copy of the front end on their machines to reduce that load that needs to go over the network
Not sure how you meant this, but there are interpretations which could indicate that you are setting yourself up for corruption. Can you be a little bit more specific?

As to "speed" questions - the first bit of advice is to look at your tables used for searching and verify that you have indexes on the most commonly used search fields. I.e. if you often do a search on last name, then that field should be indexed. If you often do a search on postal codes, THAT should be indexed.

You don't bother to index things like "gender" (M/F) because that index doesn't filter out much and involves a lot of overhead for little returned value.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 06:01 AM   #5
Djblois
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 592
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Djblois is on a distinguished road
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

What do you mean corruptions? I am loading the front end on to their machines while the back end sits on the server. I have already indexed, and gone through 99% of this list http://www.fmsinc.com/tpapers/faster/. I know the issue is mostly the network and speed of the device because the database is quite fast in the office with the Wifi or the wired connection.
Djblois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 06:11 AM   #6
gemma-the-husky
Super Moderator
 
gemma-the-husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 13,843
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,046 Times in 1,008 Posts
gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

If you are connecting to the data from out of the office, but running the database on a remote PC (ie not on the same LAN) then the performance is unlikely to be acceptable, although it depends to some degree on the functions you are using, and the dbs design - which is what you are seeing, I think.

to get optimum performance, you need to connect by remote desktop to a terminal server, which will be on the same LAN as the data.

Alternatively you could use a SQL Server backend database and host that in the cloud, then connect to that data, which should be usable as long as you have decent speed internet, but that isn't a "free" option.
__________________
Dave (Male!)
Gemma was my dog

if a poster helps you, please click the scales at the bottom left of this posting, or use the thanks button alongside.
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 03:26 PM   #7
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,367
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,617 Times in 1,535 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

When using Remote Desktop, each user should be starting a private session on the SERVER. NOTHING should be running on the local PC. You should be getting faster response using RD provided your BE database is on the same server as the RD session than you would get for local users on your LAN.

If you are running a VPN, then responsiveness will be poor with an Access BE but better with SQL Server but ONLY if your Access FE is properly designed to act as a client server FE. Old style Access apps that link to tables and use form filters will be exceptionally slow over a VPN even with SQL Server BE's. The whole point of using SQL Server is to have the server do the heavy lifting and you are not taking advantage of that unless ALL forms are bound to queries that include selection criteria that severely limits the number of rows returned by a form.

__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 12:38 AM   #8
sonic8
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 291
Thanks: 52
Thanked 87 Times in 80 Posts
sonic8 will become famous soon enough
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djblois View Post
Inside the office it is quite fast but when users go out of the office, on their laptops and using a remote desktop connection, the speed is super slow. I already gave them a copy of the front end on their machines to reduce that load that needs to go over the network - it is faster but still very slow.
Please analyze/clarify:


When using remote desktop, is the application slow or the update of the local screen on the user's computer? - The former would be a problem inside your company network, the latter (most likely) a problem of the external connection.


The frontend on the local machine is on their external computer and connecting to the Access backend on the company's network?
__________________
A professional Access developer tool:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
sonic8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 05:06 AM   #9
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 15,068
Thanks: 100
Thanked 1,890 Times in 1,726 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Speed Over Remote Desktop and SQL

Djblois - as you can see, there is some "wiggle room" in your description of how you are set up, and therein lie the questions that we have asked. It could be that you are set up quite well, but the description was ambiguous. Don't take it as criticism of your work; take it as interest in understanding what you did so we can better advise you.

__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question please help for access and remote desktop aahhmmeedd General 4 10-20-2017 03:02 AM
how to set up a remote desktop connection sven2 SQL Server 3 12-14-2012 08:31 AM
Remote Desktop Connection PeterOC Other Software 5 04-06-2008 11:54 PM
Remote Desktop problem steve711 Windows 2 10-23-2006 07:07 PM
Remote desktop etc Dan_T General 6 03-30-2005 12:00 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World