Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2019, 08:25 AM   #16
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,248
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,636 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Bedborough View Post
Hi DBGuy

I wasn't meaning to be dismissive, sorry if it came accross this way. These forums are very helpful and I'm grateful to anyone who posts a reply. Here is a smiley face to prove it.....

Just trying to go quicker than I should I think.

Bugs only because I didn't read the instructions....whoops. I needed to 'save as' to make it an editable database. It works OK.

I don't really want to have to change each individual item, more a case of making the first item in the list start with the number 10 and then everyone after it being incremental in 10s.

So if I changed list to:
10 Hi
20 Hows things
30 Fine thanks

and added in 25

I then wanted it all to be automated to renumber 10, 20, 30 and 40.

Thanks
Hi. Understood and no worries. Although the demo only increments each record by 1, there's no stopping you from modifying it to make it update the records by 10. On the other hand, if you use this routine in your app, then does it really matter what the increment is, since it will automatically renumber the whole table anyway? Just a thought...

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:28 AM   #17
Tim Bedborough
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 37
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tim Bedborough is on a distinguished road
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

DBGuy. OK thanks. End of day for me and brain hurts. I'll have a look tomorrow and see if I can make it do what I want.
Tim Bedborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 08:29 AM   #18
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,248
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,636 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Bedborough View Post
DBGuy. OK thanks. End of day for me and brain hurts. I'll have a look tomorrow and see if I can make it do what I want.
Okay, good luck. Please let us know how it goes. But also, please consider what I said about the need to modify the code. If you can live with using 1 as the increment, then you won't have to worry about figuring out how to modify the code. Cheers!

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 01:49 AM   #19
Tim Bedborough
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 37
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tim Bedborough is on a distinguished road
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

Hi DBGuy.

Well I've had a go! Stuck with 1 as increment numbering. The code worked fine. Made the name changes with table and control/field bespoke to my database. Added the module (not had to bother with 'public ' routines but added it OK). Some of the code was beyond anything I've tackled to date but all made sense (once you know how!).

BUT

My fault as I didn't make it clear. I have 1 to many relationship with my to do lists. So I have a number of to do lists (no numbering, just filtered by date) then they have related tables and sub forms to deal with their own numbered lists (lists within lists). Your code works fine if you only have 1 'to do' list. I have loads all held in the same table so my SortOrder (ListNo) may have lots of duplicates. Using your code I have 'to do' lists with only a few items in them but the list number could be e.g. 1, 456, 734, 899 etc rather than 1,2,3,4. It's all sequential (low to high) and in order for every list I have, just not incremental. I've reverted to plan A and sticking with my manual sequential numbering in 10's.

Many thanks for your tip though. It works well for a single list and I learned something too.
Tim Bedborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 07:56 AM   #20
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,248
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,636 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

Hi. If you can post a sample copy of your db with test data, we might be able to help you figure it out.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Tim Bedborough (12-10-2019)
Old 12-10-2019, 08:52 AM   #21
Tim Bedborough
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 37
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tim Bedborough is on a distinguished road
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

Hi DBGuy. Thanks for offer and help so far but I'll quit whilst I'm behind.
Tim Bedborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 08:54 AM   #22
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,248
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,681 Times in 1,636 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Incremental Numbering on a Continuous Form

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Bedborough View Post
Hi DBGuy. Thanks for offer and help so far but I'll quit whilst I'm behind.
LOL. Maybe next time then. Cheers!


__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating incremental numbering on a page Evon Forms 11 07-01-2015 02:40 PM
[SOLVED] Incremental numbering from existing Number Sequence jcbhydro Forms 20 10-07-2013 08:45 AM
Incremental numbering Big Pat Forms 6 06-23-2010 01:08 PM
[SOLVED] Manual Incremental numbering By Query ash_nash01 Queries 1 09-05-2004 05:43 PM
numbering continuous items in sub form kgcrowther Forms 2 07-27-2001 06:16 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:52 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World