Deleting the first three characters in a given field (1 Viewer)

D

dbbyron

I need to remove the "../" in front 850 records in a URL field. Does anyone have any advise on how to complete this task. Keep in mind that I am somewhat new to Access...

Thanks

Jack Cowley

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:55
If the characters you want to remove are ALWAYS 3 characters in length and ALWAYS the FIRST characters in the string then this will give you the results you want.

Right(Me.URLField, Len(Me.URLField) - 3)

Use this in an Update Query and replace the URLField with the actual name of your field.

D

dbbyron

I entered that into the update query, but when run it's telling me to "Enter Parameter Value" for "Me.URLField"

(I did substitute "URLfield" for the name of my field).

pcs

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:55
jack made a small typo....

try:

Right([yourURLFieldName],Len([yourURLFieldName]) - 3)

(jack and I both get a bit unreliable on Saturdays, as our respective nursing homes let us go to town for an hour to get lemonade and chase women...)

al

Jack Cowley

Registered User.
Local time
Al -

Don't forget to bring the cigars and I have some fresh flowers stolen from the day room to help entice the woman....

Jack

PS. Thanks for catching my error!

[This message has been edited by Jack Cowley (edited 12-08-2001).]

pcs

Registered User.
Local time
jack,

when are you going to get shed of that cigar-smoking flower-sniffing hussy? she is only after your money...

al

pcs

Registered User.
Local time
yeah? well she told me she had acute angina...

and i said 'well i hope so...cause your face is really UGLY'

al

btw: dbbyron said "we rock". have the 'Stones' done a 'Steel Wheels' performance at your nursing home yet...they appeared at mine recently...many of the women threw their teeth at them...Mick J. got so excited he did a 'wheelie' in his wheelchair!

[This message has been edited by pcs (edited 12-08-2001).]

Jack Cowley

Registered User.