Cross Reference Tables (1 Viewer)

Nevsky78

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:32
Hi all,

I have a very simple product database that I am designing, and am at the planning stage. This is probably a very basic question but I have never built a database from scratch before.

In one Table ("Main Table"), I have the fields: "Item Number", "Description", "Shipment Terms" and "Shipment Costs".

All the fields have manual inputs except for "Shipment Terms" and "Shipment Costs". "Shipment Terms" is restricted to a list of 10 set terms.

I want another Table ("Shipment Table") to have the list of those 10 terms, plus the "Shipment Costs" associated with them.

In the "Main Table", I now want the "Shipment Costs" to automatically pull back the relevant "Shipment Costs" from the "Shipment Table".

Is that possible or am I misunderstanding the concept of database structures?

Many Thanks,
Nick

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 22:32
Given that there is a one to one relationship between shipment terms and shipment cost in your table you need only store the ShipmentTermID and the other two fields can be collected, for display purposes , using a query. Become familiar with the concept of data Normalisation.

Now would also be a great time to consider a naming protocol for your DB objects, something along the lines of TBL_TableName, FRM_FormName, QRY_QueryName, RPT_ReportName Etc. also limit your self to alpha and numeric characters and the underscore.

Nevsky78

Registered User.
Local time
Hi John,

Thanks very much for that - I will get into the habit of using the alpha and numeric characters and use the underscore.

I also get where you're coming from regarding the storage in 2 tables and using a Query to view the 'combined' fields.

Having looked at it more, I will probably need to generate a very user friendly Form as the end users have no access skills.