Help needed for a non-programmer (1 Viewer)

confused1

Local time
Yesterday, 18:06
Be gentle with me people - I am a first time forum user and I'm not a programmer but can follow instructions really well.
I'm trying to create a db using a form for data input. What i need is for a drop down box that when a specific item is selected, this will then go to another list, currently a table, that is to be selected from and that entry to be entered into the db/form. I have no idea how to do this. I know it's possible from reading other threads but I must be stupid because I can't work out how to achieve it. Help please!!!:confused:

PNGBill

Win10 Office Pro 2016
Local time
Today, 13:06
What you are trying to do is very basic and easy but needs to be setup to work in the way you intend.

The Drop Down Box is called a Combo Box.

Please explain what your end result is and the starting point you have eg
End Result - create a new Customer record
Starting Point - blank form, form with all current customer records displayed in alpha sort order ...

confused1

Local time
End result is to create a new record containing surgery details. The combo boxes Consist of 3 main categories. Each of these categories has a sub category which is the one that will end up in the record. For example If I select 'Hernia' this would then bring up a list of 7 to select from. If it's at all possible, I would like to have both selections recorded in the record but I haven't set the table up for this. This database will then be used for auditing purposes - but that I can handle. I'm using Access 2007.
I am starting with a blank form as there are no records in the database at the moment. i have created all the combo boxes as tables for the main categories and sub categories.

PNGBill

Win10 Office Pro 2016
Local time
If the result is to create a unique record for an Operation on a Hernia then on your Main Form, you have two combo boxes - left to right.
the left combox will select Option One - Hernia.