Question Microsoft Access Database Help (1 Viewer)

ChrisKipper

Local time
Today, 19:18
I am completely new to Microsoft access and I have a task at University to create a database that holds the information of members of staff, modules they teach and skills that the staff members might possess. So I have learned to create two tables in Microsoft access.

One table holds the information for a member of STAFF, such as Staff ID, Staff_Name, Staff_Email_Address, Staff_Telephone_Number, Staff_Room_Number.

Another table holds all the information for a MODULE. Such as Module_ID, Module_Name, Module_Skills, Module_Description, Module_Code.

As more then one member staff can teach more then one module and more than one module can be taught by one member of staff I'm not sure if I need a third table to link the two or how I go about doing this.

Our second task was to be able to use a Microsoft access form to input a word, (such as a staff members name or a module name) and on the click of a button a query would run and display the all of the fields of information about that module as well as the names of the members of staff who teach this module.

Any help on doing this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Vassago

Former Staff Turned AWF Retiree
Local time
Today, 15:18
I would recommend in the future you post adequate titles to suggest the help you need. A lot of longtime members ignore titles that are not descriptive enough.

For starters, I would recommend a third table that treats the other two tables as reference tables as you suggested. This one would house the Staff ID and then the Module IDs that pertain to that member in separate rows.

For the form, you can have a form with a combo box is referenced by a list box to display the staffers that are applicable to that combo box based on this third table.

ChrisKipper

Local time