Access to Cloud migration

AronG

Local time
Today, 02:00
Hello everyone!

I am working for a small company and we have been discussing migrating our in-house Access based ERP solution to the cloud. What I am looking for is a professional to let us know if we are on the right track. I am no expert at Access or cloud tech (yet) so sorry if I make any mistakes. Thank you for any and all input!

0) Our front-end will still be MS Access distributed to all of the employees' computers.

1) We have a considerable amount of data (20+ years' worth) on a local server. We are looking to migrate this to a web-hosted MS SQL server. As I understand, Access to MS SQL server migration is relatively simple. We will have to pay a monthly fee for the hosting of the database.

2) We will link the each Front-End with the hosted database via ODBC.

3) We will have a trial period where we check how this connection functions. Naturally we are looking for a solution that stays performant and has no size limitations.

+1) We have been thinking about synchronizing the online SQL server to our own, local server for security and availability purposes. Is such a synchronization possible? Does the process take long? Does it slow down either party?

+2) I am assuming that this hosted MS SQL back-end will be able to be used by other applications as well. For example, we would use a tablet with a different front-end solution to communicate with and use the server from anywhere in the country. Is this assumption correct?

Finally, I would be extremely grateful if anyone with experience would be able to give me documentation or stuff to look out for. I will be looking at Google for everything that I don't understand :D.

I cannot tell you the mechanics, but in my last place of work, we used to use these people. https://www.witsifa.co.uk/
That was an access DB that we used within a browser on their Terminal Server I believe?