Button to browse for csv file and add it to a table (1 Viewer)

Sec3Op41514

Local time
Today, 05:07
Hello! New user here, I am looking for a way to hit a button and add a file to a table.

The file name changes constantly based on the date and time so i cannot use a default file location, it HAS to be a browser. I can attach a sample csv to show what the exported file looks like.

It either needs to append to a current table, OR the button can delete the table, then recreate it with the exact same name when importing, because the import file will always have the same data as it's predecessor, just with more new stuff added on. The table would be called "Catalog ID Imports"!

Thanks for all the help! It just seems to be super confusing and I am just learning how to use access vba.

~I'm a noob but i'm like a sponge, ready to learn!~

Edit: just to state i have tried many things I've found on internet and they all seem catered to something specific and i'm just not knowledgeable enough to figure out how to change those to my needs... i appreciate any and all help given though!

Attachments

• products_1_10-1-2023_72113.zip
    2.4 KB · Views: 71

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:07
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Have you considered breaking down the task into separate pieces to make it easier to get what you need? For example, are you already able to browse for CSV files yet?

Sec3Op41514

Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Have you considered breaking down the task into separate pieces to make it easier to get what you need? For example, are you already able to browse for CSV files yet?
Yes I can browse for the CSV in some instances.. but it doesnt do anything. It's like i'm calling forth the file but that's it. Someone on reddit had helped me with atleast that far. Here is the code so far:

Code:
Private Sub Command51_Click()
Dim Filename As String
Filename = SelectFilename("Select Products Export with Catalog ID Numbers")
MsgBox Filename
End Sub