Clear fields in linked objects

alicevuap

Local time
Today, 10:20
Hello everybody!

I am new in the Access world so i would really appreciate some help.

I am currently working on a main form in Access 2010 which includes quiet a lot of fields, therefore i choose to create parts of it (which are as well optional, as they do not apply to all records) as different forms which i linked to the "mother" form afterwards through a checkbox by using the following code:

Private Sub chkMajor2_Click()
Dim strformname As String
If Me.chkMajor2 = True Then
strformname = "Major 2"
DoCmd.OpenForm strformname, acNormal
End If

continued with..

If Me.chkMajor2 = True Then
chkMajor3.Visible = True
Else
chkMajor3.Visible = False

End If

End Sub

to make the next form visible for selection after filling in the current one...something like an "add more.." field actually, which i choose to represent as checkbox. Please find bellow an image of it in case i don't explain myself good.

The issue that i encounter is that when i click the "Add New" button in the main form, it doesn't clear also the fields in the linked forms. Is it possible to do that with a VBA code? Or how should i proceed?

The current code that i have for the button is:
Private Sub cmdNew_Click()
DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
End Sub

Thank you in advance!

Alice

Attachments

• img_1.jpg
    img_1.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 51
Look more closely at GoToRecord; you can specify the form.

Look more closely at GoToRecord; you can specify the form.

I tried but i didn't find a solution. Do you have any suggestion how can i approach it?

Yes, use GoToRecord twice, the second time referring to the second form.

I'm not sure how to refer to the second form..i tried by inserting forms("Major_2"). GoToRecord but it's not working... sorry, i'm a beginner in Access and in VBA so it would be useful if u could give me an example of a code because i didn't referred before to another object..