Displaying a report with data from multiple columns (1 Viewer)

Dixonka74

Local time
Today, 02:50
I'm new to Access and have been creating a database to track and monitor what programs our employees have access to. Now, I want to run a report to show who has access to a single program. The problem is, the program could be in any column in the table.

Here is what the table looks like:
Screenshot 2023-11-10 152007.png

I want to run a report to show who all has program ABC in their record. I'm assuming I could change everything and simply create a column for each program and use a check box and filter only the checked items but, we have over 150 programs...

Hopefully I explained it well enough for someone to throw me a bone!!

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:50
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

Unfortunately, your table structure is not properly structured that's causing you this problem. You may have to review the information about Database "Normalization" Rules to help you fix it.

mike60smart

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:50
I'm new to Access and have been creating a database to track and monitor what programs our employees have access to. Now, I want to run a report to show who has access to a single program. The problem is, the program could be in any column in the table.

Here is what the table looks like:
View attachment 110912

I want to run a report to show who all has program ABC in their record. I'm assuming I could change everything and simply create a column for each program and use a check box and filter only the checked items but, we have over 150 programs...

Hopefully I explained it well enough for someone to throw me a bone!!
Hi
As theDBguy said your tables are not normalised.

Can you upload a zipped copy of the database?

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
The problem is, the program could be in any column in the table.