Exporting Outlook 2000 Contacts to Access 2000

• Thread starter Thread starter RayAccess
  • Start date Start date
R

RayAccess

I am new to Access, so please help me in detail.
I have code written that takes data from Outlook contacts and puts it in a Table in Access but it puts all lines from "Street Address" in one column in a single line with small square seperating each line. I need to create a query that can seperete "Street Address" column into Address1, Address2, Address3 ( Where Address1, Address2 & Address3 should be first, second & third line from the street address field in outlook.
For e.g:
In Outlook Contact the address is divided as:
Street: 23-30 woodlane
Third floor
Suit 350
City: New York
State: NY

In Access it comes out as:

--- Street Address - - City - State

23-30 woodlane * Third floor * Suit 350 - New York - NY

* is Small square.
I want it as :

Address1--- Address2--- Address3----City-----State
23-30 woodlane - Third floor - Suit 350 - New york - NY

Please Hellllllllllp....
Thanks,

So in basics, you want to take on line of delimited text from 1 field and break it into three seperate fields.

The trick here is the delimeter, being a text symbol for a retun. If you could post a small portion of the tbl containing that long string, it would really help me in assisting you. What you will be doing is creating a second tbl with all of the fields you need, then running the proper query between them to transfer the data into the appropriate fields.
If you can post that information here, I can work on it and get it to break it out properly for you. I ask this because I feel that this may require a bit more manipulation because of the delimeter.

Thanks for your reply.
Attached is the file, the "Street Address" field needs to be separated into Address1, Address2 & Address3.

Really appreciate your help....

Attachments