How to access components in the forms detail section

Jygge

Local time
Today, 03:05
Hello! I am a beginner in VBA, but I developed quite a bit in Delphi many years ago. With the help of ChatGPT, I have now tried to create an application in MS Access. In doing so, I have encountered an issue when trying to access components in the form's detail section. I get a runtime error in Form_Current when I try to access components in the detail section using aktivitetID = Me!TxtAktivitetsId. VBA says that "The expression contains a field, control, or property name that the database cannot find." I have found that this applies to all components in the detail section. Am I doing something wrong, or is this a general limitation in Access?

Nothing special about the detail section.

You could do with understanding the difference between a dot and a bang ( . v ! ) . Dots early bind, bangs late bind and are generally used to reference recordset fuelds

try using me. Or don’t use it at all

Or perhaps you have not declared activateID as a variable? Or you have but it conflicts with a field or control name

Am I doing something wrong, or is this a general limitation in Access?

Generally, when you know the name of something and it is currently open (such as when you are designing/building a form), you use Me.item-name (because you knew the name). The compiler will look up the list of known names and resolve the address immediately.

aktivitetID = Me!TxtAktivitetsId
Why are you attempting to set a numeric field to text? It appears that aktivitetID is a Primary or Foreign Key. This makes no sense, even if you did use Me.TxtAktivitesId. And if you attempt to do that, ACCESS will not allow you to set a numeric field to text anyway.

We had better have a look at your design to see what tables you have and how they relate to one another. If your design is flawed from the start, then you will continue to have issues.