How to understand the DB Concepts in VB.Net? (VSTO) (1 Viewer)

prabha_friend

Prabhakaran Karuppaih
Local time
Today, 23:36
Hi Guys,
I have more than 13 years of experience in VBA and also using Ms Access Databases as backends. Recently decided to utilize the VSTO Word Document features to create rich reports (Ms Access Reporting Tools are very limited when comes to formatting). What's the Challenge then?

With Ms Access everything is simple:
Just declare a recordset.
Load it
and Use it.

But so far in my exploration with VB.Net:
There are 4 things are being created and involved:
Dataset
TableAdapter
TableAdpater Manager
and Binding Source.

My Exact Current requirements:
There should be a Macro-Enabled VSTO word document (*.docm)
which on opening has to print the last record of a Bill (Query Name is Bills)

Other features:
Feature No.1:
I have a sales form inside an Ms Access Database. Upon the clicking on a button the VSTO word Document has to open and print the last bill and quit.
Feature No.2:
The above feature has to be done invisibly but if I open the word Document, it has to have action pane having a Navigator in it settling on the last bill number by default but I want the navigator control to also have the general navigation features like: "|<< < > >>| >*" with a print Button to print the navigated bill using that control.

I know its a bit long post but I wanted to explain in details as much as I can. Thanks. Please reply and Provide Support.

With Hope,
Prabhakaran

GPGeorge

George Hepworth
Local time
Today, 11:06
Hi Guys,
I have more than 13 years of experience in VBA and also using Ms Access Databases as backends. Recently decided to utilize the VSTO Word Document features to create rich reports (Ms Access Reporting Tools are very limited when comes to formatting). What's the Challenge then?

With Ms Access everything is simple:
Just declare a recordset.
Load it
and Use it.

But so far in my exploration with VB.Net: