Left Join query not working

geralf

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:32
Hi,

I have a left join quert that's not working as it should

The query is like this:

SELECT tblProsesstider.CID, tblProsesstyper.PTID, tblProsesstyper.PBESKRIVELSE, tblProsesstider.CID
FROM tblProsesstyper LEFT JOIN tblProsesstider ON tblProsesstyper.PTID = tblProsesstider.PID;

The problem is that I don't get listed every record in tblProsesstyper unless the join fields has the same value, just as it was an inner join.

I want listed all records in tblProsesstyper even if it do not exist in tblProsesstider. This should have shown Null fields from the tblProsesstider

This should be simple to do but this is not working. Anyone that knows how to solve this?

Thanks in advance

Just wondering, should you have used a RIGHT JOIN in stead?

Hi Roy-Vidar

I'm no expert on this but I've made a new left join query like this:

SELECT tblProsesstyper.PTID, tblProsesstyper.PBESKRIVELSE, tblProsesstider.CID, tblProsesstider.START, tblProsesstider.STOPP
FROM tblProsesstyper LEFT JOIN tblProsesstider ON tblProsesstyper.PTID = tblProsesstider.PID;

I want EVERY RECORD in tblProsesstyper displayed even if the join field has no match in tblProsesstider. Acts just as an inner join query. I changed it to try the right join but it made no difference.

Why don't I get every record in tblProsesstyper displayed in the output result?

Any ideas?

TIA

I'm sorry, I'm not much of a query guy myself, but as far as I can see (he he - I had to test of course, I couldn't "see it";)) your query should return all the records from prosesstyper.