Odd Behavior in a form (1 Viewer)

pdesantis8791

Local time
Today, 09:04
Hi All,

First off I am a bit of a novice with Access, having said that I am experiencing some strange behavior with a form. I have a combo box which is populated by the values from a table. The table is 6 fields wide, 1st field is the autonumber ID, the remaining fields are:

1. FiscalYear (Integer)
  2. FiscalMonth (Integer)
  3. CalendarMonth (Text)
  4. MonthStartDate (Small Date)
  5. MonthEndDate (Small Date)
The combo box is set to pull down the elements from the table using the following embedded query:

SELECT HD_FiscalDateInfo.CalendarMonth, HD_FiscalDateInfo.FiscalYear, HD_FiscalDateInfo.FiscalMonth, HD_FiscalDateInfo.MonthStartDate, HD_FiscalDateInfo.MonthEndDate FROM HD_FiscalDateInfo ORDER BY HD_FiscalDateInfo.FiscalYear, HD_FiscalDateInfo.FiscalMonth;

And the column widths are set as: 0.45";0.625";0.7077";0";0";0"

There are 2 text boxes on the form: “Start Date” and “End Date” which have the following control source:

=[Combo2].[column](3)

=[Combo2].[column](4)

The logic is to select the calendar month and the fiscal start and end dates will populate in the text boxes, and it worked great.

Now here is the issue, when I shut-down the database and restart it the interaction on the form does not work and I get NAME? error in the text boxes, and the text boxes do not get populated with the dates. However, if I add a control to the form of any type (button, text box, combo, …) the combo box works again perfectly.

I do not understand what is going on with the form and combo box that would cause this behavior. I am using Microsoft® Access® for Microsoft 365 MSO (Version 2406 Build 16.0.17726.20078) 64-bit

If anyone can help me with solving this problem, I would be most appreciative. Thank you in advanced for your help with this.

tvanstiphout

Local time
Today, 06:04
I recommend you add the ID as the first column. The Start and End date then become column index 4 and 5.