Offline mode for multiuser Database application (2 Viewers)

fjell

Local time
Today, 08:14
Good morning everyone. I am fairly new to working with microsoft access and only used it during my internship so far. my task is to develop a tool that will help to electronically collect data from some of our operating machines. so basically what is happening is this. in the future the operator will no longer fill out a paper sheet in order to track the Manufacturing process but will just enterthe data into the created access form which will then be uploaded to an excel sheet that is saved on sharepoint. now here is my Problem. It might happen that due to some problems the interent connection on our shopfloor will break down. i have come to notice that when this happens so access and sharepoint get disconnected i wount be able to keep working with my application. my question is this now. is it possible to add some sort of offline working mode? I thought about kind of having a local back end that will for one first step save the data locally then on a timer based event checks if there is a stable wifi connection and copys the data into my linked sharepoint table. but i dont exacly know how this would work.\ if you have any experience regarding this problem some hints would be most apppreciated for i kind of dont know hoe to pursuit from this point on kind Regards Fjell

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:14
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

If you're using SharePoint as a backend to an Access application, it should already come with an "offline" mode. When there is no Internet connection, what happens if you continue to add records in Access? As far as I know, it should continue to accept that and simply send it to SharePoint when the connection returns.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:14
What is the benefit of using access? Why not just create an excel form and communicate directly with sharepoint?

GPGeorge

Grover Park George