Relationship(s) Help - Newbie Here!

bigcoop411

Local time
Today, 13:36
Hey guys!

This is my first post here on Access World. While researching database design related material, I stumbled across this place, which seems to have a wealth of knowledge. Hopefully, you guys will be able to lend me a hand!

So here's a brief introduction about me and my project:

I recently graduated from college with a degree in engineering; I got a job straight out of college for an oil and gas company. Currently, my employer has a program that aquaints college graduates with the company, products, processes etc. by "rotating" them through different departments.

There are two seperate phases of the program; the program in its entireity lasts for 2 yrs. Phase I lasts for 6 months where the engineers are on the same "playing field" per say, i.e. everyone is out working in the shop. In Phase II however, engineers are sent to different departments throughout the organization based on their availability / interests / skills / experience etc., doing "real" engineering work. An engineer's Phase II rotations consist of time spent in (1) manufacturing dept. (2) engineering dept. and (1) quality dept.

I've taken on a side project to create a database that helps manage & measure every facet of the program. Initially, the program only had about 20 engineers; the program is now nearly 200 engineers and growing, so managment is having a hard time keeping up, efficiently at least. When a new group of engineers are hired (typically after the end of each semester) they are given a group #. Management has been using Excel up to this point. However, I've never worked with Access before, so I'm going through a learning curve stage.

I've already read several documents on the theory behind building rational databases. I'm just getting caught up on the complexity. With y'alls help, maybe I can gain some clarity. Bringing in new eyes is always beneficial.

(whew! that wasn't brief at all)