Search Form help (1 Viewer)

colenzo

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:43
Hi all,

Having looked through the forums and searched for something to help (to much avail) I thought i would ask the question.

Im a complete beginner at access, and whilst have managed to figure some things out, have completely stumped myself when it comes to setting up the required vba code for my search form.

What i require, is a form based search method (similar to something like the allenbrowne one available on the net) where I can use say, two unbound boxes to search basically two fields to find the correct record.

The fields I wish to search are CLIENT and ENTERDAT in the table BACKUPQUERY_TBL.

Client is a three letter field thats text only, whilst date is a short date field (no time involved)

What, for the life of me, I cannot work out, is how i can search by either one, or both combined, display the results within the form (so having the unbound boxes in the header and results in the detail perhaps?), and have the ability to double click on a record and pop-up into a editable form where I can enter in information for two additional fields.

My main form is called SEARCH and the popup editable form is called QUERIES.

Can anyone help me on this please? I have little to no idea where to go with the coding, and am not so quietly flailing around in the dark now!

FYI im using access 2000 - have no help file and cannot launch any wizards (IT sucks in my company)

Thanks for any advice! :D

colenzo

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks, I'll check that out today! Looks promising, and with some good explainations. Hadn't gotten back as far as 2005! It's frustrating this trying to learn on your own lark!

Thanks for the help so far!

colenzo

Registered User.
Local time