Solved Speccing Piecework (1 Viewer)

janelo

Local time
Today, 05:15
Hi folks,

I'm building an Access app for nonprofit orgs that own and operate affordable housing in the US. It is not a sales-oriented model, but more about portfolio analysis (balance sheet accounts, rents, expenses, risks, forecasting); reporting internally and to investors, lenders and government agencies; relationship management; and tracking event deadlines.

I have small-scale and big-picture questions that I'm sure y'all can help me with.

I'm a strange hybrid of developer, SME, artist, and mad scientist in how I built this. I had not built anything in Access for a long time but I have done a lot of work that we could loosely call "business analyst" on systems such as .NET, CRM, Salesforce, Power-BI, etc). With 30 years of industry experience, I was able to intuitively build the relationships, menus, forms and reports in my App. I've also built accompanying Excel tools to help import and analyze data. I have someone working on back-end workflow to import data.

My next step is to polish up the user interface and get help refining front-end objects.

I'm sure I'll be chastised by those who know and use best practices but I can take the heat. I'm here to learn, but mostly to get better at not building this alone. I've started connecting with gig workers to help me with discrete projects, such as creating a search function on a form, sending an email with a report, designing a report from a form, replacing my ham-handed macros with code to better streamline navigation between menus ... that kind of thing.

My first question is about writing clear specs and instructions. Anyone out there who enjoys that part of the process? Are there any formats people use to provide specs or clearly outline a deliverable?

I've started to look around a bit, and have seen a couple threads related to writing specs but I wanted to introduce myself with a started question and this seemed like it fit the bill.