Transportation Database Designs (1 Viewer)

DBUserNew

Local time
Today, 13:22
Hello Everyone,

I am not an expert in Access, but I have basic knowledge about Access and normalization. I always read articles to improve data modelling. But no luck. I am currently preparing a db for our transportation system.

Business: Transport (Individuals, Company employees, School trips or special events)
Expected Outcome:
1). To see upcoming/completed schedules (There are various trips Morning/Evening/Nights).
2). Track vehicle details (includes maintenance, oil change & other service dues etc...)
3). Track customers payments & history (Pending/completed). Which months they have pending/completed.
4). Track drivers salary (includes advance payments if any), their vacations/off days. So we can see on which dates they are available.
5). Then of course overall financial conditions.

Here is the table I plan:

tblCustomer
CustomerID
LastName (I use Company as last name if Type is company)
FirstName
ContactNumber
CustType (Individual, Company, Student or Special events etc...)
Status (active/Inactive)

Then I plan to design trips as orders; tblOrder & tblOrderDetails

tblOrder
OrderID
CustomerID
OrderDate
Status

tblOrderDetails
OrderID
VehicleID
Shift
TripDate
etc...

I don't know I totally lost here. Because some trips we have to complete daily, some not required on weekends/holidays, some only need on certain dates (special trip), some need on certain weekday (ie: Tuesdays, Sundays etc...). Some individuals send us their schedules for the upcoming weeks (morning/evening/nights) so how should we record this and get their schedule?

Vehicle table; Some vehicles are rented/leased not owned by us. So how to track their availability.

Trips for Individual, company or school have a fixed charge for a month. Other special trip will charge for that trip.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Raj

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:52