VBA Coding to filter a form based on a search Combo Box (1 Viewer)

M3opa

Local time
Today, 08:53
Hi all,

I am very new to access and just dipping my toes into VBA coding. I am trying to code a combo box to filter my form on the after update event. Based on my searches in forums and online, I currently have the following code though it is not working for me.

Private Sub OrderStatusSearchBar_AfterUpdate()

If IsNull(Me.OrderStatusSearchBar) Then
Me.Filter = False
Me.Filter = ""
Else
Me.Filter = "OrderStatus=" & Me.OrderStatusSearchBar
Me.Filter = True

End If

End Sub

When opening the form, I get no errors in my form however, all records are now showing as "#Name?" as per the below. Changing the drop down options my my search box does nothing at all.

1662994800044.png

Cannot stress enough just how new I am so any help at all is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
M3opa

bastanu

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 00:53
Try Me.FilterOn=False to turn it off and Me.FilterOn=True to turn it on.
EDIT: here is your modified sub:
Code:
Private Sub OrderStatusSearchBar_AfterUpdate()

If IsNull(Me.OrderStatusSearchBar) Then
    Me.FilterOn = False
    Me.Filter = ""
Else
    Me.Filter = "OrderStatus='" & Me.OrderStatusSearchBar & "'" 'assumes order status is text; if number use your original line
    Me.FilterOn = True
End If

End Sub
Cheers,

M3opa

Local time
Thank you for your reply. I think we are almost there. I no longer get the "#Name?" all over my record boxes however, when using the search filter box, no records appear at all.

I have tried various tweaks of the code you gave above to no avail.

1662998913102.png

Could this be because of the " ' " line of code in the "Else" statement?

cheekybuddha

AWF VIP
Local time
What is the RowSource and ControlSource of your combobox OrderStatusSearchBar?

Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Hi. Welcome to AWF!