Solved Who keeps Access opened ? (1 Viewer)

TipsyWolf

Local time
Today, 20:31
hey guys,
i have my db.accdb in network where many ppl use this db.
Now i need to update this file and i need to remove it from network and then put updated file back. BUT !
there is laccdb temp file which is created when someone runs access. But prob. someone opened access and forget about it, but i need him to close it and i have no idea which PC is using this db.

is there a way to find out through this laccdb ? like bsod viewer or something ... is there a laccdb viewer ? lol

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 18:31
Have you looked in the file?
Open it with Notepad.

I hope it is split and you are not sharing the FE or the unsplit DB? :(

TipsyWolf

Local time
Open it with Notepad.

i couldn't believe it might be so simple !!

1719295226593.png

thank you very much, Gasman !

TipsyWolf

Local time
im new at access, so i've never split db before. prob. need to go ahead and try
who ever new noobies will read this topic i suggest to watch this youtube video

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
DB need to be split. That splits data from code.
The BE (Back end/data) exists somewhere where everyone can get to it.
The FE (Front End/code) exists on each users PC. They get their *OWN* copy, they DO NOT share a FE.

The only time I would not split, when it is just for me. Like my Diabetes DB. It is just for me, so I have not split it.

TipsyWolf

Local time
DB need to be split. That splits data from code.
The BE (Back end/data) exists somewhere where everyone can get to it.
The FE (Front End/code) exists on each users PC. They get their *OWN* copy, they DO NOT share a FE.

The only time I would not split, when it is just for me. Like my Diabetes DB. It is just for me, so I have not split it.
well explained !
thank you very much Gasman for helping noobies like me to explore access.

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time