Use access with MYSQL (1 Viewer)

Bee

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:31
Hi,

Does anyone have an example of a front end made in access with MYSQL backend that they would like to share?

Any help will be very much appreciated. A link to a good tutorial will be excellent.

Thanks,
B

The_Vincester

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:31
No examples, but it's turning out to be easier than I thought to do...

The key is to go to the www.mysql.com page and download the ODBC driver. Once you do that you can set up your tables in mySQL (which is not too bad at all with a decent knowledge of databases). From there you can link the tables using ODBC and "use" the tables.

I'm just getting started myself, but it's not nearly as hard as I thought it would be.

Good luck!

Bee

Registered User.
Local time
The_Vincester said:
No examples, but it's turning out to be easier than I thought to do...

The key is to go to the www.mysql.com page and download the ODBC driver. Once you do that you can set up your tables in mySQL (which is not too bad at all with a decent knowledge of databases). From there you can link the tables using ODBC and "use" the tables.

I'm just getting started myself, but it's not nearly as hard as I thought it would be.

Good luck!
I will try that when I have time. Thank you.

speakers_86

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:31
What is the benefit of using Access as a front end for an online backend? Why not develop the front in php in on online web page?

If Access is the front end, and the user is in the middle of working, then looses the internet connection, are their any types of problems that may happen?

If you use this approach, would the link to the mysql need to be configured on every computer?

Banana

split with a cherry atop.
Local time
About same benefit as gained by using SQL Server, Oracle, DB/2, PostgreSQL:

a) More data can be stored beyond 2 GB.
b) Better support for concurrency.