Hello all, newby from Amsterdam here with an ACCDE security quest (1 Viewer)

orny

Local time
Today, 14:30
Hello All!
I have been programming in Access for over 20 years, have always found it an extremely useful tool. My "specialty" is using Access as a front end and using MySQL as a backend. This usually works quite well. I stumbled into this group because I have always been interested in the security aspects of Access, and have been toying with something new in the past days. I entered via the "Encrypted-Split-No-Strings-DB" - thread.

I have just done my first tests using Access in combination with PHP calls over SSL to a SSL encrypted MySQL backend and a non-encypted ACCDE front-end. Anyone interested in trying to crack it open and tell me how they did it? As far as I could tell, Wireshark seems to show that there is just a lot of garbled bytes over the internet line. I tried to copy a new autoexec macro into th ACCDE, pointing to a new form, allowing me to alter settings. But I could only inject the rogue autoexec macro, not the frmRogueForm I had planned.

Look forward to hearing from you!

Best regards,

Pep

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:30
Welcome to Access World! We're so happy to have you join us as a member of our community. As the most active Microsoft Access discussion forum on the internet, with posts dating back more than 20 years, we have a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with you.

We're a friendly and helpful community, so don't hesitate to ask any questions you have or share your own experiences with Access. We're here to support you and help you get the most out of this powerful database program.

To get started, we recommend reading the post linked below. It contains important information for all new users of the forum:

https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/threads/new-member-read-me-first.223250/