Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2018, 06:54 AM   #1
chrisjames25
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 266
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
chrisjames25 is on a distinguished road
Nav Form not requerying a subform

Hi

I have used access' built in navigation form.

Within the first tab of the nav form i have put a subform (subform1) that has a header with some filter comboboxes and in the detail section of the subform i have a further subform.

If i open the Subform 1 outside of the nav form and change the selection in the cbo the sub form requeries and filters information.

HOwever when i do this within the navigation form it does not work.

Any ideas.

HAve attached a screenshot of query and of the form.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.JPG (81.0 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg Capture2.jpg (100.5 KB, 12 views)

chrisjames25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 07:32 AM   #2
ridders
Part time moderator
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 5,805
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,428 Times in 1,333 Posts
ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

Good to see you've made a lot of progress on this database.
IIRC the bad news is that the built in nav form can only handle one subform due to issues with referencing controls in subforms
I may be wrong about that but suggest you google this issue.
Also read the posts listed at the bottom of this thread which may be useful.

If my memory is correct, you may have to create your own form instead
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

New example databases:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
nil illegitimi carborundum est
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 07:52 AM   #3
chrisjames25
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 266
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
chrisjames25 is on a distinguished road
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

Thanks Ridders

If i knew where the 'slow tear down my face' emoji was i would use it now

Spent a good bit of time building that nav form to make it look pretty so hoping you may be wrong but so far with all your help you never have been.

Ill have a look at the links you mentioned.

Cheers

Chris

chrisjames25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 07:56 AM   #4
ridders
Part time moderator
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 5,805
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,428 Times in 1,333 Posts
ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

I hope I'm wrong and, as I never use nav forms myself, perhaps all will be ok.
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

New example databases:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
nil illegitimi carborundum est
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 08:06 AM   #5
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 5,436
Thanks: 128
Thanked 1,476 Times in 1,448 Posts
Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

To confirm Colins suggestion, I think you'll find the inbuilt Nav forms quite restricted.

The tabs are treated as sub forms, but more cunningly don't have the (sub)form source set until you select it. Hence you can't refer to anything on it as it's not actually there.

This has one obvious advantage that the form and therefore the data isn't loaded until you need it. But you need to know that in advance and plan accordingly.
__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 09:18 PM   #6
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,224
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1,933 Times in 1,891 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjames25 View Post
..
Spent a good bit of time building that nav form to make it look pretty so hoping you may be wrong but so far with all your help you never have been.
Maybe if you post your database + some description of the result you want ad where it goes wrong, (printscreens), someone here could get an idea for a solution.
__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 11:09 AM   #7
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 27,246
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1,382 Times in 1,317 Posts
Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

You might be able to get this to work by placing hidden controls on the main form. As an item is selected in the controlling subform, you copy the value to the main form. Then the other subform would refer to the controls on the main form rather than on the first subform. This is clunky at best and you will need to think carefully about how it should work and when controls should be cleared.

Otherwise, if you really do need multiple subforms loaded at once, you will need to abandon the navigation form and roll your own by using a main form with a tab control. It isn't very difficult to do

__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 11:38 AM   #8
ridders
Part time moderator
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 5,805
Thanks: 79
Thanked 1,428 Times in 1,333 Posts
ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice ridders is just really nice
Re: Nav Form not requerying a subform

He has already abandoned it and made his own
https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...d.php?t=299316

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

New example databases:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
nil illegitimi carborundum est
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Luck Requerying Subform on Access Navigation Form JamesJoey Forms 6 03-24-2016 03:05 AM
Requerying values in a subform after updating combo box in main form nikolehman Forms 2 04-21-2015 08:38 AM
Requerying Navbigation Form SubForm JamesJoey Forms 16 07-20-2014 03:21 PM
Requerying the data in a subform after making a selection from the main form Tophan Forms 31 03-28-2011 06:48 AM
Subform Blues - Data Entry setting itself to 'No' & Requerying 1 subform from another Keith Nichols Forms 10 12-11-2006 06:56 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World